The Curse is Broken

2007_0928test0050
Well, at least it was at the end of last week.  Hol & I managed to get free tickets to the Caps-Flyers pre-season game last Friday night.  It didn’t look good at the beginning of the 3rd period with the Caps down 5-2 but they scored 5 (FIVE!!!) straight goals and came back to win.  W’HOO!!!  Hopefully this means I can go to regular season games and expect the same results.2007_0710test0032_2

I knit nary a stitch this past weekend, as I was on pup-sitting duty once again.  The same dastardly
duo as July – Bridie and Sullie – made knitting impossible as one or the other of them always needed a pet or a scratch or a walk.  I’ll forgive them though, since they’re so darn cute.  This is one of the rare moments she wasn’t playing alpha dog and laying on TOP of her brother.

The other reason I didn’t knit this weekend is my complete and utter frustration with the pattern I was using.  I may try them again once the entire pattern is complete, but for right now, I think I’m going to frog the yarn and cast on Nancy Bush’s Conwy socks (from Knitting on the Road) instead.  They’ve been on my "to knit" list for a while, and since I have the yarn wound and all, now’s as good a time as any.

I did manage to start the heel flap on the second slipper sock for my mom.  They’re still not going to be ready in time for her birthday (next Monday) but I should have them ready before mid-month.  They’re a smidge on the fugly side but she’ll probably still love them.  I do have yarn for a backup pair to make for Christmas, so her toes should at least be warm either way. 

DCU has gone 1-1 in the last 4 days, defeating Toronto at home on Saturday, but losing a heart-breaker in Mexico last night.   Next game is away v. Kansas City and I’ll miss the Chicago game the following weekend because I’ll be in the Queen City for the Bank of America 500.  W’HOO!

Charlotte_034_2

[Okay, so that's from the '05 Coca-Cola 500 but as long as the end result is the same, I don't care!]

2 thoughts on “The Curse is Broken

  1. Stick says:

    OK, now we just need to see what happens the next time you go to a real season game. I’ll cross my fingers that the curse is truly broken….

  2. Anonymous says:

    OK, I’m sure you know that the real Queen City is Cincinnati…. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

