D is for…

the District of Columbia (I know, total copout, hush).

DSC_0043

This marks the 15th year that I've lived in DC-adjacent.  Despite briefly considering jumping ship for Chicago around the turn of the millennium, I can't imagine living any where else.  It's home to me, much the way Columbus and Gambier have been.  I'm not saying that I'll never live anywhere else, but for now, this is home.

 

World War II Memorial

Last night, with the temperature hovering around 60, I decided to mosey Mall-ward and check out the National Tree.

DSC_0072
Tanenbaum got back

What is going on with the junk in the trunk of that tree?  Seriously!  Last night was an experiment in taking photos at night with no flash.   A second may not seem like a very long period of time, but while you're standing there trying not to move while the shutter's open?  Well, give it up.  I'm glad I didn't go through the hassle of lugging my tripod around, but I do understand that it comes in handy in situations like these.

DSC_0016
 
The Old Executive Office Building was all decked out for the holidays.  You know you're practically a native when you can't be bothered to go on the half block side trip to check out the White House.

Okay, fine, I did squeeze it blurrily into the background of one of my tree photos.

DSC_0031

DSC_0022

There was a children's choir singing last night when I arrived at the Ellipse, and I have to admit to getting the giggles.  Not at their performance, per se, but at the wild gesticulating on the part of the choir instructor.  Oh, I remember those days well.  Now, if only they had a handbell choir…

D is also for the never-ending bouts of  dogsitting & DC United (better luck next year, boys!)

4 thoughts on “D is for…

  1. nigelmoose says:

    Nice pics! After almost 10 years in the area, DC is starting to feel like home to me too, almost as much as Ohio does.

  2. Yvonne says:

    Ah, how I wish I lived closer to DC. It is such a beautiful old city, with so much going on. I think it must be gorgeous all done up for the holidays.

  3. mai says:

    great photos! that tree is totally weird looking, isn’t it?
    i’ve lived here my whole life except for when i was in college and grad school. this will always be home for me, but i am definitely itching for a change. i think i’ll definitely end up coming back eventually if i move away though.

  4. Kim says:

    “Tannenbaum got back” — that is HYSTERICAL!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

