Ring Out the Old

Ring out the old, ring in the new, Ring, happy bells, across the snow: The year is going, let him go; Ring out the false, ring in the true.
~ Lord Alfred Tennyson

It’s 2012 and there are so many major things in my life that need to be taken care of that no mere New Year’s resolution can address.  First and foremost at this stage of the game is getting healthy.   Coming down with the Fayetteville Flu after Prom is all well and good – even expected – but this is week three of a bone-rattling, rib-cracking, non-stop coughing extravaganza that I simply cannot shake.  Originally diagnosed as a common cold, more recently upgraded to bronchitis, I’ve been sidelined by this death rattle for far too long.

The problem is, I can’t move on to THE most important thing until this gets settled.  I need a job, like yesterday.   Are you hiring?  Have leads?  I’m serious.  The savings are gone and I can only borrow so much from my family.  My next move is literally a move, to Savannah to live with my aunt.  Truly the last thing I want to do, but that may be my only option.  We’ll see what January brings.

Despite the death rattle, I did manage to go to Dayton for Christmas to see my grandmother.  She turned 85 last year and I know there won’t be many holidays left with her, so it meant a lot to me to be able to see her.  Unfortunately, she wouldn’t let me take a picture of her with her Christmas gift.

I daresay she loves it.  She promised she’d have someone take a photo of her wearing it once she “buys a new suit or dress worthy of it.”  Gotta love grandmothers.

The drive to Ohio was long – dear GAWD, it was long – but it was good.  I listened to an audiobook I downloaded from the library (Bossypants – two thumbs up), I sang along with bad oldies music and filled up the tank eleventy-billion times.  I did get to see a kick-ass sunrise though.

Almost made only getting three hours of sleep worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

