Not All C25Ks Are Created Equal

About once a year, I get a burr in my butt about running.  A lot of my friends run, anything from short-ish trail runs to ridiculous ultra-marathons.  I, on the other hand, have never been a runner.  One hundred or so extra pounds, bad knees, bad back, big boobs – none of these are factors which make pounding the pavement particularly easy.

I’m mostly an elliptical gal at the gym – easier on the joints and the boobages – but thought adding in the occasional hyperventilating on the treadmill to change things up.  With my friends Christina & Allyson both training for/running their first 5Ks this year and me needing to do SOMETHING, I decided it was time to dig out the ol’ Couch to 5K running program and get going.

My problem is, the “official” Cool Running’s C25K training program seems to believe that I’m either launching from a far more fit starting point or else thinks I lead a FAR more active sofa lifestyle than I actually do.  Week 1, Day 1 calls for a “brisk five-minute warm-up walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.”  My crawling off the couch then running for a minute straight after a 5 minute warm-up walk is SO not going to happen, not when I’m sucking wind after that initial five-minute mosey.

Holly – BFF and hostess of the Sheepish podcast – discovered an alternate training program: Zombies, Run!  She personally needed more of a narrative than a voice in her ear saying “Walk….run….walk again” and I needed a more gradual approach.  The first week of the Zombie 5K training program is:

zombies

 

I know for those of you that actually run real distances, this is comical.  When you tip the scales at 250+ and the most running you do is that mini-sprint to duck under the garage door before it closes or to get to the phone before it goes to voice mail, this is a much more appropriate starting pace.  By no stretch of the imagination is this meant to be a condemnation of the official program; I’m simply stating that – for me personally – it’s too fast out of the gate.

The rec center is closed tomorrow, so the zombies will have to wait until Monday.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Not All C25Ks Are Created Equal

  1. You can do it! Just have to forget the bad workouts and remember the good ones :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

