Field Trip

Since watching the end of this Bears-Steelers game is hella nerve-wracking, I figure I’ll piece together words and photos about my day.  I mistakenly thought the Wool Gathering was NEXT weekend; fortunately I became aware of my mistake in time to do something about it.

After loading HRG on a bus to Georgia with her church group, I refilled my coffee and headed east to Yellow Springs.  Even though I was running a little later than I wanted to, I forced myself to take my time, drive back roads, and check out the scenery.  I’m so glad I did, even if I couldn’t capably capture the sights with my handy Nikon.

farmland

moo bwEventually I got to Young’s Jersey Dairy, where the Wool Gathering was taking place.  We got quite a bit of rain Friday night so the field was a little muddy but perfectly navigable.  The cows didn’t mind a bit.

mooThere was a small “petting zoo” tent with some sheep, goats, Angora rabbits, and this sassy fellow.

whazzupQuite possibly my favorite accidental photo of the day.

The other three tents contained various crafty items for sale.  Knitting/crocheting, spinning and weaving were all well represented throughout the Gathering.

gather

strum

spinning

dunno(I have no idea what crafty goodness the guy on the bottom was up to)

I told myself I would only spend money if there was a yarn that spoke to me, that I could afford a sweater quantity of.   Enter Morning Meadow Sundries, based in Galloway, OH.  I picked up some incredibly squishy worsted weight alpaca in Charcoal.

squishUnfortunately, you can’t pet the screen to tell how unbelievably soft this yarn is.  I have to say, I love it a lot.  As of right now, I think I’m going to use it for Thea Colman’s Cape Cod pullover (Ravelry link), although Triona Murphy’s Chandail cardigan (Ravelry link) is also in the running.

So that was my day – the first one with any items of note in a long time.  Tomorrow will not be nearly as thrilling – updating my resume and making a handful of copies in preparation for a job fair being held locally.  Wish me luck!

One thought on “Field Trip

  1. Stephenie says:

    Oooh, jealous! I want to squish your yarn! I vote for the Chandail, but I don’t know if you have the yardage for the cables. I’m going to Lambtown (http://www.lambtown.org/) next week. Wanna come?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

