One Beer at a Time

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to blog more in 2014.  I have to figure out my theme and my voice and what I want to say and how I want to say it but for now, I’m just going to tell you about my day.

My friend, Eric, is having a New Year’s Day shindig.  He’s a bit of a craft beer guy, so I decided to check out a local brewery to see if they had any beers worthy of grabbing a growler-ful.  I fired up the old GPS and headed off to Kettering to find the Eudora Brewing Company.

flight

In general, I just like beer, so I’m trying to be more mindful of what I’m drinking and what I like and don’t like.  Fact: I don’t like pale ales or IPAs.  They’re just too hoppy for me.  The bartender was kind enough to give me a taste of the Boomerang IPA – didn’t do a thing to change my mind about IPAs so I didn’t bother including it in my flight.  From the top: Sundowner Blonde Ale, The Bee’s Knees American Pale Ale, Thunderball Stout and their seasonal Chocolate Milk Porter.  I probably preferred the Sundowner and Thunderball out of the five I tasted.  The Bee’s Knees was a smidge hoppy for me and the porter just tasted a little off.  They were out of the Mother-Fuggle Brown Ale, but the bartender seemed to think I would’ve liked it.

As usual, I felt a little lame venturing out on my own.  I had my usual bag of tricks – knitting, e-reader, crossword puzzle –  but for a while I was the only person at the bar, so I watched football and chitchatted with the bartender.  There are several other breweries in the area – Dayton Beer Company, Toxic Brew Company, Yellow Springs Brewery – so maybe I’ll try to hit up one every couple of months and check them out.

 

 

One thought on “One Beer at a Time

  1. Stephenie says:

    Good start on the resolution! I’m looking forward to more entries…more beer pics, more gym reports, more Ohio roadtrips, and more crops this spring & summer. And if they let you travel with your growler, you can come tour our Sacto breweries…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

