Solid Gold

That’s my gold star for going to the gym tonight after work.  I had an "orientation" session tonight and, I have to say, I’m a little – well, a lot – disappointed.  When I joined my first gym many, many moons ago, they walked around with me and said, "You probably want to do x minutes on this piece of equipment and y minutes on this piece.  You’ll want to do this many reps with this much weight, this many days a week, etc." 

While I understand that this isn’t an ideal system – body gets acclimated to the routine, etc. – this is what I was really looking for tonight: a springboard into a routine.  What I got was an hour long sales pitch, the final thrust of which was, "If you don’t do this twelve-week system, you’ll never manage to get healthier and lose any weight."  I get that they’re in the business to try to get me to buy their product, but I’m already paying money to go to your gym; don’t tell me I’m not committed to improving myself because I can’t drop $500 for your program.

When I finally finished being told that, no, really, if I can afford to go on vacation for two weeks, I can really shuffle my priorities and cancel a different trip to pay for a trainer, I did 20-25 minutes on the elliptical and came home.  I was also told that I could figure out the weight circuit on my own.  Gee, thanks.  When I originally left to walk  home, I was thinking, "Well, maybe I can shuffle this and sacrifice that" but now I’m just irate.

At the end of the day, the program she was recommending was 20 minutes of cardio three times a week, an hour of weight training three times a week, a gallon of water a day and the 5-6 smaller meals a day routine (carbs and proteins).   I’m really not sure what I’m going to do with this information, but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

