I Carried a Watermelon*

P8180524

I’m not entirely sure how I managed to purchase $130+ of groceries, things just got away from me.  I had a shopping list and everything.  I didn’t even stray too terribly far from the list.  Matter of fact, I didn’t get a couple of things – and yet, I have a stocked fridge and an empty wallet.  Anyone willing to take bets on how long it takes the zucchini, cucumber, peppers, sweet potatoes, cherry tomatoes, basil, cilantro, lettuce, etc. to morph into that green gunge that only exists in refrigerator vegetable crisper drawers?

I can’t take full credit (or blame) for everything in the ‘fridge – I do have 3 roommates after all.  But all of this is mine:

P8180526_1P8180525Sure, my ‘nanas are getting a little brown, but Alton says that just means they’re perfectly ripe.  I’d better start eating them soon though; I don’t think they have too much time left with us.  I still don’t think I’m quite going to make my 5 servings of veggies a day but hopefully I’ll be closer than I have been for quite some time.

Speaking of nutrition watch, added whey protein to my smoothie this morning – never. again.  Tasted like they blended in a scoop of sawdust (having a yogurt smoothie would’ve probably P8160519_1helped considerably).

Last but not least, I got a little present in the mail from my friend RWR.  She’s partially to blame for my NASCAR addiction (the rest lies squarely with Stick).  Anyway, apparently I won some sort of raffle and am now the proud owner of two GMAC Racing hats – currently Brian Vickers, soon to be Casey Mears.   I can’t imagine an instance when I wouldn’t be sporting one of my zillion Chimmie hats at a NASCAR event, but it’s good to have a backup plan.  Though, truth be told, my 2nd favorite driver is Jeff Burton – I just can’t imagine wearing anything orange. 

* Name that movie…

3 thoughts on “I Carried a Watermelon*

  1. Holly says:

    I know where it’s from! Baby very awkwardly says it to Johnny when they’re introduced in “Dirty Dancing”! I *heart* that movie.
    Hey, at least you’re spending lots of money on healthy crap… not like me. 😛

  2. ACK! Holly beat me to it. Dang dang dang!!

  3. Steph says:

    Um, hello!?! Harder quote, please… no one puts Baby in a corner, Dani!

Leave a Reply

