Damn the Torpedoes…!

P8220587 I’m still not totally in tune with my new camera.  I love the size but I’m not in love with the pictures it takes.  I decided to take it on some test drives around town to see if I could figure it out.  First stop: Farragut Square – our subject: Admiral Farragut.  It wasn’t until this afternoon that I realized that he was responsible for the quote, "Damn the Torpedoes! Full Steam Ahead!"  Chalk it up to the whole "learning something new every day" thang.

Three weeks from this very moment in time, Hol and I will be sitting at the airport and I will likely be bouncing off the walls.  I LOOOOOOOOVE to fly.  Well, I love to travel period, but I love to fly.  I don’t get to do it very often so I thoroughly geek out over takeoffs and landings.   She’ll be sedated and I’ll be talking a mile a minute – it’s going to be a heck of a combination.

This morning as I stumbled out of bed to head gym-ward, I ended up having to double-back to my room for my camera.  I’m not very fond of it, but dawn sure can be pretty.  After all his big talk, Gym Guy wasn’t evenP8220581  there to taunt me this morning.  You just can’t count on anyone these days.  Speaking of ye olde gym, thanks so much for all of your kind words of encouragement!  I have a VERY long way to go (have only come close once in the last decade) and I’m sure to need all of the warm fuzzies of support you can throw my way.

I’m going camping again this weekend in the wilds of central PA.  As I’m virtually out of control of my food options, I’m going to try not to sweat it much.  I’ll just try to make the best choices I can and hope to break even come Monday morning.  I know exercise isn’t going to happen so I’m heading to the torture chamber tomorrow morning, my precious day off, as well as getting up early on travel P8220609 day to get some time in before my ride arrives to pick me up.

Just so you don’t think I haven’t been doing any knitting, here I am halfway through the first repeat on Steph’s second sock sans syndrome, Tsunami.  Try saying that five times fast.  I’m going to work on it while watching Dr. No (the first Bond movie).  I now have a special affinity for Dr. No, having gone to Ocho Rios and Dunn’s River Falls on our cruise last year.  As a matter of fact, our cruise ship docked at a pier used in the movie.

Leave a Reply

