What I did on my August Vacation

P8260635 I’ve finaly caught up a little on my sleep and can try to think through what to say about this most recent camping weekend.  I’ll start with the facts. 

My friend Jason showed up to pick me up around 11:30 or so Friday morning.  We loaded up the car and headed for the Keystone State.  We ended up pulling into the campground around 5:00 which gave us plenty of time and daylight to find the spaces that my friend Amy had saved for us.  The best thing about the sort of camping that I do – versus the roughing it that real campers P8270641_1do – is that I don’t have to do anything but show up and pitch my tent.  Someone else handles the food and the beverages and the firewood and all that good stuff.   

At least my people pick good campgrounds; this one was along the banks of the Susquehanna River in central PA.  Although this picture wasn’t taken until Sunday when it was all rainy and misty, this is pretty much the view we had all weekend.   At least all the rain was good for something; it’s so pretty and green. 

I managed to muddle through the weekend without having Stick’s coattails to ride, but I wasn’t particularly happy about it, not to mention comfortable with the role.  It was great to see people that I hadn’t seen in a while and that I only see on these wacky weekends – maybe 2 or 3 times a year if I’m lucky.  Friends from Boston to Tampa whose first names I don’t even know but will P8260627 travel halfway around the world with.  Such is the wacky life I lead.

Does anyone else go on bar crawls on their camping trips?  No?!  Hmm, I guess I’m just crazy that way.  We did go back to my two favorite bars in Lock Haven, PA:  The Old Corner and Uncle Albert’s, which is run by the yummy Lenny.  He was workin’ this weird facial hair thing though but it didn’t stop me and Amy from lusting in his general direction.

There was little to no knitting on this trip after all.  I’d figured that with 5 hours in the car, I’d find the time to at least knock out a few rounds of Tsunami Two, but it just didn’t happen.  I had to spend most of the time navigating on the drive up and talking to keep Jason awake, and I actually had to drive on the way back (he was a little incapacitated).  Now that I look at the sock, I think I picked up the wave pattern in the wrong place.  It just looks a little wonky.

I paid the price for the fun of the camping trip though (and surely not making the gym for 4 days in a row didn’t help): +4  The scale taketh away and the scale giveth back.  In force.

5 thoughts on “What I did on my August Vacation

  1. MelyssaF says:

    and whose bum are we getting a look at in that tent picture? 😉

  2. Elizabeth says:

    It’s so pretty & green up there!

  3. dani says:

    LOL. M, I have no clue! Darn you and your eagle-eye.

  4. Erin says:

    It sounds like an awesome trip … I’m uuuuuuuber-jealous!!

  5. Stick says:

    Mmmmmmm…. Lenny. I love me some Lenny!!!! Sorry I wasn’t there to Guest Bartend! Next year… I promise! Stick

Leave a Reply

