I’m Weak

What is it about the allure of a KAL that I can’t resist?  I’m the slowest knitter in creation, I never finish anything in the allotted window of time, I’m easily distracted and yet must….join.   Despite having sworn off KALs for the month of October, I found myself powerless to resist Socktoberfest and the Grey’s Anatomy KAL.   The Grey’s KAL (to which I haven’t officially been accepted mind you) only requires that I knit something while watching the show.  Since I’m doing this anyway, I figured this was an easy way to add a button to my sidebar.  Socktoberfest requires a bit more concentration, but I should be able to pull it off.

I’ll start with the questionnaire:

  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
    • I don’t remember.  I bought sock yarn and dpns at least three years ago at a yarn store in Wisconsin but it never really took.  I originally taught myself on dpns, then Knitgirl taught me socks on two circs.  I later switched off to Magic Loop on my own.
  • What was your first pair?  How have they "held up" over time?
    • Kermit was my first pair.  Since I only made them earlier this year, I’d have to say they’re holding up pretty well.
  • What would you have done differently?
    • Maybe gone down a needle size?  They’re a little loose.
  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
    • Love my Cherry Tree Hill Pomatomus socks and…I can’t actually remember the yarn I’m currently using, but it’s fantabulous.
  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
    • Magic Loop, definitely.  Socks tend to be my commuter project and the fewer needle points I have to deal with, the better.
  • Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)
    • 50/50.  I think I like the short-row method better, but I still feel like I’m messing it up.
  • How many pairs have you made?
    • Only maybe 6-7?  Kermit, Hippo, Stick’s Jaywalkers, my Broadripples, Steph’s, Sniffy…Waterloo’s on needles now.
      • [best not to ask how much sock yarn I have that’s waiting to be knit up]
Leave a Reply

