My Weekend in Pictures

Pc031618_3 Friday, I took off work early and went to the annual DC United equipment sale.  Despite my friends laughing at me for getting there at 12:30 (they’d gotten in line almost 3 hours earlier), I got exactly what I wanted.  I’ve been coveting this reversible fleece for two years and I’m SO happy to finally get one.

After forking over my hard-earned cash on black-and-red goodies, I spent the afternoon/early evening at the shop being picked on by the Pc011581_1 girls, spending a few unnecessary dollars on the new Ella Rae book, the latest Interweave Knits and a replacement Chibi.  After that, I hurried home so I could watch Chimmie and the gang at the end-of-the-season banquet.   Oh, my boys clean up nicely.  I generally like Jay Mohr but he was just HORRIBLE emcee-ing the banquet.  It was so bad that we started a drinking game to get through the horror (fortunately we started AFTER the opening monologue).  During my three hours of quality TNT viewing time, I did manage to hit the halfway point on my so-called Xmas present for my cousin.

Yesterday morning, we got up bright and early to go to the Scottish Christmas Walk.  This year, Jo and Chels joined me and EJ for the festivities.  It wasn’t nearly as cold as it was last year, especially as we were huddled up next to our friendly neighborhood Alexandria police officer’s cruiser for warmth. 

Pc021585  Pc021592 Pc021601

Today, I went to get a pedicure with my friend P who’s getting ready to go to Hawaii for two weeks.  It’s my first pedicure in weeks and, even though flip flop season is LONG past, I like having happy toes.

Pc031622_1  I had high hopes of this being UFO weekend – I decided it was time to knock off the backlog of unfinished objects languishing around my room.  I did manage to cross a couple of them off the list, although it’s not like either of them required a lot of work on my part.  I finally finished grafting the toes to Steph’s socks and hope to get them in the mail tomorrow, as well as doing my part on Kate, which needs to go in the mail as well.

And now I have a question for the masses.  During this holiday season, what knit/crochet gadgets do you find yourself asking for?  Is there a gadget you can’t live without that I should ask Santa for?  A hot new book on the market that no intrepid knitter should be without?

5 thoughts on “My Weekend in Pictures

  1. Laura says:

    Well I’m moving, so I asked Santa for more clear rubbermaid tubs to properly pack my stash. If this were any other year, I would have asked for: long, tiny needles to do socks on magic loop/2 circs; a wooden cable needle; and possibly a swift and ball winder. But really all I need is yarn and needles, and I have plenty of those!

  2. Ann says:

    Hmmm. Inspired by you and Holly, I’m asking for the Knitpicks options needles, plus the little magnetic chart reader, plus the magnifying gauge count.
    So I guess I’m not much help on that front. 🙂

  3. MelyssaF says:

    You already have the kniting gadget I’d be asking for (a ball-winder)… and your taste in pattern books is totally different from mine. So I can’t be much help. We’re a useful bunch, aren’t we? 😉

  4. Erin says:

    My list this year includes a ball winder, swift, and the book Inspired Cable Knits.

  5. Carolyn says:

    I want that green Ka-Ching counter with a lock. I think it’s supposed to look like a frog. But mostly I need classes to help me learn more. I so badly want to learn to knit continental. it’s so much faster!!!
    And YEAH – Jay Mohr SUCKED WIND!!! Painful I tell ya!

Leave a Reply

