This & That…mostly That

Once again, here we are four days before Christmas and I am in no way, shape or form prepared for the holiday.  It’s not like the date changes each year.  I mean, we don’t hit Thanksgiving and then the Christmas board members send out a memo announcing that the holiday will be in 4-5 weeks – it’s ALWAYS the same date and I’m NEVER prepared.  This year is a bit worse then most – I just can’t seem to hit my stride.  I don’t know if it’s the unusually warm temperatures we’ve been having this fall or what, but everything’s just kind of blah.  Hopefully I’ll perk up once I get home.  What do we think the chances are that’ll happen?  Yeah, I had the same thought.

Went to the OT last night to head to late night.  The usual suspects were there, though Erin and Maeve took off early, but most importantly, Aimee the birthday girl was there!  Michelle went into exile to make room for me at the cool kids table and even though Hol was stingy with the wine, they did save me a cupcake and let me go get tapas, so I can’t Pc221696complain too much. 

I worked on my sock for a while and then picked up some yarn and started pseudo-swatching for a mystery gift for a reader.  The knit will be revealed sooner rather than later because I’m going to need to get her to try it on so I get the sizing right, but so far it’s a really quick knit and I love the color of the yarn; hopefully she will too.Pc221683

I just looked at all four of the projects in the current rotation.  Notice anything?  Maybe I’m  subconsciously in the holiday mood after all!

Last but not least, my Bea Ellis hat kits arrived.  I’m making the Traditional one for my big sis and the Nordic one for me.  I’m planning on starting hers while I’m home so cross your fingers.

They finally put "White Christmas" on the viewing schedule, although it’s on at SIX in the morning on the 26th.  Apparently we’re dreaming of a White day-after-Christmas.  Who knew?   At 6:00 a.m., I’ll certainly still be dreaming, I’ll tell you that much.  I’m trusting TiVo to take care of it for me.  Oh TiVo, how I love thee.  I forgot to check to see if "Holiday Inn" will be aired in the coming weeks, but I did make sure to take note of "The Sound of Music" airing Saturday night.  W’HOO!

I am such a dork.

So, to conclude my dorkdom for this evening:  I’ve been thinking about Christmas carols lately.  The Genre/Holiday setting on my iPod has been getting a workout lately, as has the FFWD button.  Even I don’t need three copies of Bing Crosby’s "White Christmas" or three versions of "A Christmas Song" (two by Nat King Cole, one Mel Torme).  So, out of curiosity, what holiday ditties stuff your stocking?  The aforementioned Nat King Cole version of "A Christmas Song" is my personal favorite, but I find it hard to get through the season without "Christmas Wrapping" by the Waitresses (picked up during my unfortunate GAP employment phase) and I love Dean Martin’s "Baby, It’s Cold Outside."  I know what EJ will say, how ’bout anyone else out there?

4 thoughts on “This & That…mostly That

  1. Erin says:

    I don’t typically think of the Sound of Music as a winter/Christmas movie. Is it supposed to be a holiday film?? Oddly, though, I always expect to see the Wizard of Oz at Easter time … no clue as to that connection, either …
    Merry Christmas!! I love the festive redesign 🙂

  2. Shalini says:

    Thanks for the comment, we are slowly digging out!
    Also I love knitting, will stop back here after digging out! 😉

  3. Laura says:

    Music: Last Christmas by Wham. Movie: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

  4. Carolyn says:

    Baby It’s Cold Outside is my FAVE!! and I’m so ready for A Christmas Story marathon. W’HOO!

Leave a Reply

