Home !@$%* Home

Pc251704Well, I’ve somehow managed to make it back from lovely, scenic Ohio in one piece and with the majority of my sanity intact.  It’s amazing how much burying my nose in sticks and string helps me get through my trips home.  I know my parents wish I’d come home more often, but once a year is really all I can tolerate any more.  Four days was really the outer limits of what I could reasonably take.

There really isn’t a great deal to tell about my whirlwind trip home.  The highs: catching up with Tom, seeing my grandmother and heading over to my favorite yarn store near home.  The lows: just about everything else.  Tom and I met up for drinks when he got off shift Saturday night and just hung out at the Round Bar and caught up.  He’s still not sold on the whole wedding thing, but I find it highly unlikely that he’ll back out, especially now that his fiancee’s dad is ill.  It’s not that I don’t wish them well; it’s just hard to get excited about a wedding/marraige that came about strictly due to a "Give me a ring or else…" type situation.  Ah well, hope everything works out for the best.Pc261729

I made the mistake of taking my mother on my field trip to Temptations, which I discovered during my personal Columbus yarnstore crawl last year.  I picked up a tape measurer – which I promptly lost (can’t even blame that one on Igor) – and a couple of skeins of sock yarn.  My mother pitched a fit about the amount of Pc261732_1 money I spent on sock yarn and spent the majority of the time grousing about needing to get back home.  Next time, my yarn store retreats will remain just that – a retreat.  Hopefully I can manage to make it up to the store Steph and I discovered in Mount Vernon as well.

Gift-giving went relatively well.  I’m still completely befuddled as to what to get for my aunt and cousin and I have to mail those soon.  My present for my grandmother was kind of lame but it was something she needed.  I got my dad a portable telescope and he LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED it.  It was a little more than I was planning to spend, but watching him hug the box and giggling like a little boy was worth the ramen I’ll have to eat for a couple of weeks.  I got my mom a pair of house slippers which have yet to leave her feet and an IOU for a knitting project (although I categorically refuse to use anything vaguely resembling the squeaky yarn I used for her last handknit).

6 thoughts on “Home !@$%* Home

  1. Ann says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! hope it’s relaxing, fun, and yarn-filled. 🙂

  2. Elspeth says:

    Happy happy happy birthday! xoxo!

  3. Melyssa says:

    Glad they liked the gifties – hope you got some good birthday/xmas goodies, too!

  4. Rossana says:

    Happy Birthday, Dani!

  5. Lolly says:

    Hope you had a great birthday!!!

  6. meg says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!!
    Glad you made it home safely. That sock yarn looks fab.

Leave a Reply

