Baby Steps

P1011470_26,231 of them to be precise.   

I picked up a pedometer yesterday during my trip to Target.  I was watching one of the 8 billion New Year tv shows trying to urge the public to become healthier (as if it isn’t already everyone in the universe’s resolution) and one of them mentioned that there’s a health movement to try to encourage people to walk 10,000 steps a day.  I’m 62% of the way there.  I was going to go to the gym after work today but I didn’t because I didn’t get home ’til nearly 7:30.   Fortunately I caught the opening kickoff of the National Championship game because that was the last time the Buckeyes did anything right.  Oy.

Why so late?  Because I had to go get this.  I ended up returning the Treo and just getting a good ol’ fashion regular old telephone.  Well, as "regular" a phone as  you can get any more.  I don’t know that there was anything really WRONG with the Treo, but it wasn’t write for me.  It inhaled battery life like no other and I only got one bar of service in my house.  All in all, it’s probably for the best – it’s better that I save money for Australia.  Fifteen months and counting.

Random sampling of my Project 365 pics so far.  Not very exciting.  Hopefully the next 51 weeks will be more exciting:

P1021826_4     P1031840_1  P1071872
[L to R: birthday haul; blurry lights in Old Town; the beginning of the savings for Australia]

I forget whose blog I was cruising earlier today but they referred to BookMooch.  As hard as it is for me to part with books, maybe if I feel as though they’re going someplace where they’ll be loved, I’ll do a better job of handing them over.

5 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. Jenn says:

    I was using a pedometer last fall (until I lost it at a park, grrr) and it really is hard to get to 10,000 steps, especially if you have a desk job. 2 daily 45 minute walks didn’t even get me there!
    I do think it’s funny that they started pushing the “be healthy” shows, does anybody really make a resolution to sit on the couch and eat fast food, watching tv and scratching their butts?

  2. Carolyn says:

    That Mooch thing looks COOL! Sadly, I got rid of almost all my books in my last move 😦

  3. MelyssaF says:

    Nice new phone. and way to go you, getting over 6,000 steps in a day!
    BookMooch looks awesome. I may have try it.

  4. meg says:

    way to go on the steps. 10K is hard to do but you’re so close.

  5. Sharon says:

    Now you’ve done it! You’ve given me a new addiction! I love bookmooch!!! Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

