It’s About Freakin’ Time!

Backyard

I can’t believe it took this long for the first snowfall of the season.  What is it about snow that instantly makes me feel like a 5-year-old again?  Everytime I glanced out the window yesterday and saw the snow coming down, I would burst into spontaneous giggle fits.  I know – hard to believe, no?  [I didn’t claim it was a particularly IMPRESSIVE snowfall – we probably got between 1.5 and 2 inches]

This weekend, I went to my first stash swap/knit night with a combo of strangers and friends co-hosted by Snargle and Vibegrrl.  Unfortunately, since we got there kindPreswap of late, I didn’t really get a chance to talk to the folks I didn’t know very well, but I assume I’ll see most of them again at MD Sheep & Wool in a few months.  The swap was crazy!  I didn’t really dive in – I left that to the pros – but I did pick up a couple of balls of wool for hats.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get to my camera – it was buried in a corner someplace, but you can check out others’ pics here and here.  Despite the fact that I occasionally turned into my usual introverted self (hush Stick!), I had a great time!

I decided to take yesterday off from the gym, laboring under the delusion that this week would be when I would start getting up to go workout before work.  That was, of course, before the wintry mix descended upon greater Washington DC and I decided not to get out of bed.  Perhaps I’ll try again tomorrow.  I really do prefer going to the gym in the morning, but it’s SO HARD.  I’m just not a morning person by ANY stretch of the imagination. 

Scarf3 EJ and I braved the elements to go to our friend Pam’s house to knit and watch football yesterday afternoon [GO BEARS!].  We ended up teaching a couple of people how to knit and I managed to get a FO out of the deal!  I know!  Two in one week!  I finally finished my cousin’s so-called Christmas present.  I’m glad I decided to go with the fringe, despite not being a fringe-y person myself.  Hard to believe I actually get to knock something off my UFO Resurrection to-do list.  Other items on this list (that I haven’t blocked from my mind):

P1220163_2   P1220180_3   P1220166_2  P1220169_4

P1220174_2   P1220167_1   P1220164_3   P1220165_1

Row 1: current socks; Banff; other socks; We Call Them Pirates hat
Row 2:
Somewhat Cowl; Penobscot Bay hat; Inishmore; Fetching mitts

Finally, my favorite Saturday Sky pic to date:

P1200132_1

3 thoughts on “It’s About Freakin’ Time!

  1. Ann says:

    That’s a fantastic Saturday sky pic. You know,when it started snowing, I thought of you. Finally, here’s your dang winter! Now can it be 70 degrees again?

  2. meg says:

    i love snow!
    i hear you about the morning workouts. i much prefer doing that, too. i think it’s nice to get it over with but also a great way to start the day.

  3. MelyssaF says:

    Love the extreme close-ups of your WIPs. Esp the pirate hat. Enjoy the snow while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

