Baby, It’s Cold Inside

I don’t know if my office’s furnace hasn’t kicked in yet today, but it’s nearly 11:00 and my office is FREEZING.  Everyone in our suite is walking around with their winter coats on – at least everyone who hasn’t purchased an under-desk heater.  I’m about to go confiscate someone’s; I’m not sure how much more I can take.  I just dug out my glittens, so at least my hands can be slightly warmer and I can still type. 

Pirates
It was a fairly knittiful weekend at the Casa de Knascar.  Friday night I got together with a couple of friends for a glass of wine and a couple of hours at a local coffee shop.  R was making the most beautiful pair of gloves, which I would love to be able to show you a picture of, but alas, the camera was at home.   P worked on her Snicket socks and I showed her how to cable without a needle.  Me?  I worked on my Pirates hat.   I was thinking of trying to hold off until June/July so it could fit into Project Spectrum for that period, but I think I’m going to try to get it done in time for the March 1 DC United game.

I overcame my temporary abandonment of Project Spectrum over the rest of the weekeBigsis_1nd by
working on BigSis’s hat, which is in pretty shades of grey and white.  I started the decrease rounds yesterday and probably could’ve finished it except I didn’t have my DPNs with me to finish closing up the top of the hat.  There are parts where the stranding looks good and in other places you can tell I could use some work.  I’m sure it’ll clean up with practice.  I also have this fear it’s going to be a little large for her noggin, so I may get a second chance at it sooner than I’d like. 

Elliott
I’ve developed quite the intimate relationship with the heel of my first Elliott sock.  It’s been knit and frogged twice and I’m about to start the third attempt.  One side of it looks okay and the other side just looks like garbage.  There are weird holes and chunky bits.  Chunky bits aren’t good in socks, I’ve decided.   So, once again I have to power up the Tinkinator 3000 and undo the last several rows.  Maybe I can get that redone over lunch, even though that would require taking off the gloves.  Something to consider.

NASCAR officially started back up last weekend, with !@#$%#@% TS winning the Bud Shootout and David G. winning the pole for next week’s  Daytona 500.  It’s still weird to see anyone driving the M&Ms car other than ESad.  Chimmie’s starting position will be determined on Thursday with the rest of the field during the Gatorade Duels, but he finished 5th in the full field yesterday.  I haven’t decided if I’m going to listen to Trackpass while at work or just TiVo it and watch when I get home.  I’ll probably do both and just watch Chimmie’s race while I’m packing for Columbus.

My life as a gym rat continues.  I’m still doing cardio only (and just 30-35 minutes at that) but I’m just trying to get to the point where getting up and going is automatic.  I plan to start adding weights  next month, probably via BodyPump, which I love.  Sadly, it won’t be the same without Darren, but what’s a girl to do?  The next couple of mornings are going to be difficult, with the Winter Storm Watch we’re sitting under.  I doubt the weather will be severe enough to cause our office to close, but it will definitely be bad enough to make early morning treks to the gym less than welcoming.  I love snow – not crazy Oswego-level snow, mind you – but schlepping through freezing rain and sleet just for the privilege of working out just doesn’t appeal to me at six in the morning.

4 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Inside

  1. meg says:

    pirates is looking great.
    way to stay on track with the gym thing. i’m still trying to get back in. so awful. i was kicking ass for the longest time and now im like gym? 6am? nah, i’ll just sleep. you’re inspiring me to get off my butt!

  2. Kimberly says:

    I have to have a heater for under my desk starting in Oct! Work in a garage and opening doors just sucks the heat out. And I layer as well. I’ve been known to bring in shawl’s to cover my legs and lap to keep warm.
    Spent Sat late afternoon and evening with sports starting with the Pro Bowl (Yea AFC!) and ending with The Shootout.
    I’m looking forward to the 500 and have started a pair of socks for me to work on during the race.
    This year I’m going to schedule my projects by the track. Superspeed ways – socks, simple cables or fairisle patterns, 1 to 1-1/2 mile tracks – baby stuff and simple patterned hats, short tracks – plain hats.
    I’m hopeing this helps with my plan of combining destashing and charity.
    Wish me luck.

  3. BigSis says:

    Love the hat, LilSis!

  4. Anonymous says:

    You’ve been v., v. busy! I’m cranking out the green blanket…just hope I work on it steadily instead of, oh say, putting it aside for the 10 days before the party & then pulling it out 2 days before the party to finish it/do the border, etc. *sigh* You’re my inspiration πŸ™‚ For the gym-thing, too!

Leave a Reply

