It’s a Hard Knock Life

When you roll over and flip your alarm clock the bird from across the room at 6:00 a.m., do you think that’s an indication that, perhaps, you haven’t yet become accustomed to morning workouts?  Contrary to my attitude, I did manage to get up and trudge to my friendly neighborhood torture chamber.  I missed my chance to check out this new class at the gym last night (part tai chi, part pilates, part yoga) since I was running a little late; I’ll try again next week.

In my bleary-eyed, sleep-deprived state this morning, I saw something on the local news about a Grey’s Anatomy spin-off featuring Addison.  I can’t find anything online to substantiate this rumor (at least not without delving too far in and accidentally tripping and falling face first into a spoiler), but has anyone else heard anything? (ed. M found this article)

I got a fair amount of knitting done on Elliott with all my quality airport time this past weekend.Elliott2
  I have probably three inches or so left to go before grafting the toe.  I have yet to figure out how to eliminate that gaping hole where I finish working the heel and rejoin to work on the foot (or the leg, in most cases).  Apparently my favorite local crack dealer yarn pusher friendly neighborhood yarn establishment is holding sock yarn for me in a "Buckeye" colorway.  Yeah, sure, I’ll be resisting that…uh-huh.  Sadly I won’t be able to whip up a pair of socks in time for the No. 2 hoops Buckeyes to take on the No. 1 Badgers this weekend.  (Yes, sis, I know)

As promised (albeit a day late), I gave TKN time to catch the race before coming back with any comments on how Team 48 did in their defense of  their Daytona win.  The answer?  Not well.  Chad just couldn’t get the car settled and after brushing the wall a couple of times, Jimmie finally popped loose, hit the wall and ended up in the garage, finishing 39th.  I’m disappointed – obviously – but the team’s heading to SoCal this weekend, so we’ll see if they get their act in gear when they return to Jimmie’s home state.  Overall, it was an odd Daytona – the usual dominant restrictor plate drivers (J.Gordon, Stewart, Junior) crashed out and it ended up being a shootout between Harvick and Martin.  Happy won.  For the record, the Nextel Cup commercial with Jimmie and Elliott Sadler?  HILARIOUS!

4 thoughts on “It’s a Hard Knock Life

  1. Jenn says:

    Morning exercise is the best time for me, it gets it out of the way before I can think of an excuse, but yeah, it’s tough. Flipping the alarm clock the bird is sort of satisfying.
    By the way,I thought of you last night when I saw the hip-hop President’s Day Chevy commercial all night long.

  2. Stick Knits says:

    But I wanted Mark to win!! He deserves it after all this time. Dammit!

  3. Kimberly says:

    Tip for the next sock. Instead of going thru 1 loop of the edge stitche go thru 2 (the whole first stitch on the edge). This does leave a ‘ridge’ on the inside but I’ve never felt it when I wear my socks and it does look really good on the inside.
    When you come to those stitches knit into the BACK of the stitch. It twists them and helps to close the gap.
    I managed to do a little HBBS knitting during the race up until the last caution. What a finish! Where did Harvick come from! At least it was a Chevy that crossed the line first. Poor Mark!

Leave a Reply

