Happy Birthday, Henry Higgins

Well, I suppose technically March 5 is Rex Harrison’s birthday but he’ll always be Henry Higgins to me.

This weekend was far too short, as usual.   In our ongoing quest to find ways to escape the gravitational pull of our respective couches, E & I headed south to Old Town to take in their St. Patrick’s Day parade.  While the District’s St. Patty’s parade isn’t until this Sunday, the Alexandria parade was this past weekend.  It was a decent parade, as parade’s go.  I think our only complaint is that there were large gaps where nothing was going on.  Fortunately there was an Alexandria City cop on a Segway who kept the crowd amused by doing tricks.  Then again, I’m sure the crowd in front of Murphy’s was pretty easy to amuse by that time of day.

Cops 
Guinness   Flags_1
  Starwars

And, of course, what’s a St. Patrick’s Day parade without…storm troopers?

After the parade we ducked into Eamonn’s chippery for a second.  Bad idea, when one can’t  have they’re yummy-smelling golden chips for another month, so we quickly ducked back out and went to my all-time favorite restaurant in Old Town, the Union Street Pub.  Next week, when I’m bitching up a storm about having gained weight back, remind me of my dining habits this past week. 

On the other hand, don’t!

The rest of the weekend was pretty low key.  Dining on takeout Chinese food out of a coffee filter while sprawled the the floor of Hol’s new apartment isn’t quite the stuff of Pulitzer Prize-winning writing (although who’s to say it shouldn’t be?) and there was no race to speak of.  A little cleaning, a little laundry, a little knitting.  I finished up the back of Banff and cast on the front last night.   I’m really on the verge of tossing this sweater into the frog pond for good.  I just don’t think the shaping is going to be flattering, though I am knitting it up strictly as a lazy day sweater.  I guess I’ll just keep wasting my time plugging away at it until I  make a decision.  My Brooks Farm is calling to me though, trying to tempt me away from my boring knit.  What to do, what to do…

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Henry Higgins

  1. Melyssa says:

    Yay storm troopers in the parade! 🙂 Sorry I missed it!
    Keep going, I’m sure Banff will be great.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Stormtroppers rock! They weren’t up to “diva” standards, but they had their own flair. Uhm, where’s McCoy? /ehj

  3. LauraRN says:

    Boo Hoo— I had to miss the parade because I was working. Maybe next year.
    (I loved that walking glass of Guinness… what a hoot!)

  4. BigSis says:

    @”#*$& to that parade. I was driving home through Old Town at 2 p.m. and got stuck on Washington for 25 minutes (but I could see the parade at least). Who has a St. Pat’s parade on March 3 and who plans it from 12 – 3 and who lets it cross Washington?!?!? At least we Scots know how to plan a parade….

  5. Amy says:

    Hi! I’m new to your blog. Having just watched My Fair Lady recently, I now have “Just You Wait” stuck in my head…

Leave a Reply

