I Miss Darren

Years and years ago, I used to obsessively attend a class at my gym called BodyPump.  Kind of weight-lifting set to music is the best way I can describe it.  All muscle groups, low-weight, high-repetition.  It’s really the only way I can force myself to do weights.  Apparently I’m a fickle gym rat though because when they replaced my favorite BP instructor Darren, I couldn’t be bothered to keep going.  Oh I tried, but no one was quite as motivating (or, frankly, as pretty to look at). 

Pam and I went to a new BP class last night, making it the 7th day in a row that I’ve worked out in some form or fashion.  I’m SO taking the rest of weekend off!  Besides, my weekend is kind of jammed with silly things like a children’s music concert and brunch.  Unfortunately, I won’t  make the birthday party this weekend, so someone go eat a cupcake for me!

I’ve been plugging away on my Hourglass sweater (Belvedere who?  Banff what?), but I’m starting to get nervous.  I’m about 6" along and I just don’t P3170690_2know if I’m going to have enough yarn.  I only have 4 hanks of the Brooks Farm FourPlay (I love, Love, LOVE this yarn!) and this sweater is known for taking more yarn than the pattern suggests.  I’m definitely ordering oodles of extra when I go to MDS&W this year.  There was another yarn from last year that I want to track down for a cabled cardigan (maybe Maeve’s?), but I’m going to have to look at my finances.  With possible trips to Niagara Falls in April and Charlotte in May, I’m going to have to be very budget conscious, especially since Meg is almost entirely responsible for making me spend a lot of money yesterday.  It should be delivered on Monday and I’ll share the dirty details then.  Steph and Stick bear minor responsibility for not talking me out of the purchase.

Thursday was my bi-weekly weigh-in day.  I lost another four pounds in the first half of March.  Yay me!  There continue to be things that I could do better, but I"ve cleared the first 10% of what I feel I need to lose total so now I need to just keep plugging along, and try to be make better decisions about what I eat.  Pam is totally hooked on BodyPump so if we can use one another to keep going weekly, that would certainly help me out since I’m really bad about doing weights on my own.

I’m spending a lot of quality time on public transportation today so maybe I can get Elliott’s heel turned today.  He’s been languishing away untouched and unloved for a couple of weeks now.  Poor E.

4 thoughts on “I Miss Darren

  1. meg says:

    CONGRATS on the loss! You are doing so well.
    I used to LOVE my BP class at Gold’s. There was just one teacher that really got me going and then I switched gyms and they don’t offer that anymore. Boo! I swear that class is so great and it goes by so quickly. Keep it up.
    And hey, you are so an adult that makes her own decisions. I can’t be blamed. 😉

  2. Jenn says:

    From what I’ve read about the Hourglass Sweater, the yardage for the pattern was way, way off. I hope you’ll have enough!
    Four pounds! Go you!

  3. Melyssa says:

    Wooo hooo!! Go you, spending all of that time at the gym is worth it! (I continue to be amazed that you can drag yourself out of bed so early in the AM.) Keep it up!
    Hope you had fun at the concert. 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Your gym-bunnyness is much admired! Great job!

Leave a Reply

