Stitches to Stitches, Skein to Skein

P3180692After nearly committing my first full skein of Brooks Farm to Hourglass, I  finally had to throw in the needle.  1070 yards was never going to P3180034miraculously become 1300; gauge – while measured three times by the Divine Miss H – was never going to miraculously fit.  So, back into the yarn cake it goes until I can figure out what to do with it.  I really liked it for this sweater, but apparently it’s not meant to be.  I could always design my own I suppose.  No, really, stop laughing.  Okay, guffaw to your heart’s content; I’ll keep typing.

P3180033 Elliott came back out of the heap since I had some quality commuter knitting to do yesterday on my way to the Justin Roberts show at Jammin’ Java.  For those of you who don’t know – and I would assume it’s most of you – Justin is this amazing, award-winning singer/songwriter of children’s music.  Being urchin-less myself, IP3170031 would have no way of knowing this except he was a couple of years ahead of me at  Kenyon and we Lords and Ladies tend to look after our own.  If nothing else, it gave me a great opportunity to hang out with my friend Liz and her two little girls (ages 5 and 2).  I’m REALLY bad with little kids so it’s always a struggle for me to relax around them, but I figured I muddled through okay.

There was low-grade, undocumented debauchery yesterday in honor of St. Patrick’s Day but I didn’t think it would be fair to my friends to break out the camera during the joyful rendition of Tiffany’s "I Think We’re Alone Now," much less the boys’ enthusiastic, yet ill-advised attempts at interpreting Shakira’s "My Hips Don’t Lie".  I’ll simply state that words nor photographic images could truly convey the experience.

Today was largely a lazy Sunday.  Elizabeth & I went to brunch at the Evening Star Cafe, which I’d never been to before.  It’s located just south of us in the Del Rey neighborhood in Alexandria tucked along Mt. Vernon Ave surrounded by several other small shops.  We probably would’ve wandered around the neighborhood a little more to work off brunch except it was a smidgen on the windy side this afternoon and there was just no need for that.  It was PACKED by 11:00 a.m. so if you decide to go, I’d recommend getting there by 10:30 at the latest or after noon – it was starting to clear out by then.  E was so-so about her breakfast sandwich – she thought they were a little stingy with the bacon – but my veggie quiche was pretty good, as was my sausage (though a touch overcooked).   The coffee was strong and the zucchini bread they gave us to much on while we poured over the menus was delish.  I wish I could’ve had more this afternoon while I lived up to my blog-title and worked on Elliott while watching the Atlanta race.

Swim I wouldn’t be a good Kenyon-ite if I didn’t give a big "HELL YEAH!" to the men’s swim team notching their 28th consecutive Division III title this weekend.  Not to be outdone, the women – who lost the title to Emory University for the past couple of years – came out on top this year to win their 21st National Championship.  W’HOO!

5 thoughts on “Stitches to Stitches, Skein to Skein

  1. Ann says:

    That’s a bummer about the four play… guess you just have to find an even more fabulous color at this year’s MDSW?
    I LOVE evening star — it’s one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants. We’re there for brunch at least every other week — maybe I’ll run into you at some point? It’s better in spring/fall when they can put tables on the sidewalk too.

  2. meg says:

    aw, sorry about the four play. i didn’t buy enough either so i’m using mine for a mini clapotis at some point. at least you still have it to look forward to.
    sounds like the rest of your weekend was a blast. i’m dying to hear what you think of the camera. the anticipation kind of makes for a good monday, yah? those are hard to come across.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve definitely had better bfast sammies…& hash browns. But the grits were good & since I’ve had dinner there, too, I know that’s worth returning for!

  4. Macoco says:

    So sorry to hear about your hourglass! I hope you find something nice to use that yarn for.

  5. Stephenie Liu says:

    Go KC! My world will truly crumble the day the men DON’T win nationals, but I shouldn’t take it for granted.
    (Yay Justin and Liam too! What a Kenyon-ey weekend)

Leave a Reply

