It’s Not Easy Being Green

2007_0430test0035I really should’ve stuck with my instincts and done a thorough cleaning job before embarking on my painting session last weekend.  Of course, I didn’t – who me?  Clean?!?  – and I paid the price.  There was quite a bit of shoving, grunting, cursing and sweating involved, and that was just to move the bed away from the wall.  The end result is worth it though (or, at least the halfway result).  The two green (ahem, Sagey) walls are done and next will be the two off-white walls.  I won’t be able to get to them for two weekends (ed. um, no I won’t; I’ll be in N. Carolina) and then I will be ready to decorate – that’s even scarier!  Time to dig out and print up all of those vacation photos that I want to put on display.

My Writhe socks are on hold because I foolishly decided to try to finish a pair of IK Padded Footlets2007_0430test0032 for my mum for Mother’s Day.  Foolish, foolish me.  Not only do I think I’m going to end up having to buy another ball of Jitterbug, but it will be a minor miracle if I don’t snap a dpn.  Yes, I said DPN.  Although the very core of my being cries out against it, I just couldn’t figure out how to work the double-stranded sole of the sock using magic loop.  I’m sure I could’ve figured it out eventually, but I was getting a twitchy eye just contemplating it, so I caved in and dug out the bamboo.

There are two United games this week and I just don’t know what I’m going to do with those boys.  I love them dearly, but at 0-3 this season, I’m getting a little frustrated.  Ah well, I’ve suffered through losing seasons before, I’ll do it again.  At least my other boys are hangin’ in there – finished 2nd at Talladega after running over poor Casey (note: keep the 25 and 48 teams away from each other in Alabama; nothing good can come of it).

One of my "homework" assignments this week is to take a picture of a natural body of water.  Great Falls would be ideal, of course, but as I am vehicularly challenged, I just don’t think that’s possible.  That leaves the Potomac.  It could be worse; I could live somewhere with no water at all.  I’m still strugging with my camera a bit, but these are my favorite pictures I took while walking home via Georgetown earlier this week.

2007_0430test0138    
2007_0430test0170

Does the C&O count as a "natural" body of water?

5 thoughts on “It’s Not Easy Being Green

  1. LauraRN says:

    Nice pics. And I love the sage walls. Aside from teal, (and, of course, orange and maroon) I think that sage is my favorite color– especially for walls.

  2. meg says:

    walls look great and dig the reflection photo.

  3. Mia says:

    I like the photo of Georgetown. I need to get down there and just walk. And the C&O does count. Man created it and made it a natural body of water. Or you could find a puddle and photograph it….

  4. Macoco says:

    I like that shade of green! Good luck with the rest of the painting 🙂

  5. Melyssa says:

    I can personally vouch for the “sagey” color, it’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

