Good thing I’m not afraid of heights

My Memorial Day present to myself has finally arrived.

2007_06050044

I’ve had the same craptastic mattress and boxspring since the winter of 93/94 and my daily back protests just got to be too much.  Once Uncle Sam gave me my hard-earned cash back and I set aside a chunk for Australia, I took what was left and took advantage of Macy’s Memorial Day sale.  I ended up getting a firmer mattress than I’d really like, but with my pesky lower back issues, I figured firmer would be better in the long run.  We’ll see how I sleep.  After sleeping on such an old, tamped down mattress and boxspring for years, the new set – which stands 27" off the floor – feels like I need a stepladder to climb in.

I have lots of projects in the works that require my attention:

Project 365: I have COMPLETELY fallen off the wagon with this whole photo-a-day project.  Ever since I joined Take a Class with Dave & Dave on Flickr, I find that I focus on taking photos to pictures to fulfill those requirements and forget take everyday pictures.  [FYI, if you’re interested in this whole Take a Class… thing, the original class is full, but you can ‘audit’ it here.

Perspective1_2   Ivy_2   2007_05020135_2
Assignment examples (l to r): perspective, green & body of water   510403618_03b8ba9f1a_m2

Project Spectrum:  Oy.  While I’m completely fascinated by the notion of Project Spectrum, I simply  don’t knit quickly enough.  The only projects I’ve managed to complete in the two-month color segments have been socks, and Writhe and I even missed that mark for May.  I’m almost to the toe decreases but not quite there yet.  I’ll cast on for June/July’s socks with my Buckeye-colored Claudia’s Handpainted once I wrap those up.  I need to remember that it’s not just for knitting but I should look for this period’s red, black and metallic shades everywhere.  DC United game anyone?

Decorating project:  Well, I’ve got the new princess-and-the-pea bed, some snazzy picture frames I picked up at AC Moore’s moonlight madness sale, and four nearly-painted walls.  Mysteriously, the green walls painted MUCH easier than the off-white ones.  The coverage isn’t nearly as good; I may actually need to pick up another gallon of paint to go over the edges and some places where it’s streaky.  I made a decent dent at cleaning my room to make room for the bed, but there’s still more to do.  How I can fill 3 trashbags and not make a dent is beyond me.

My teams: Chimmie was set up for a top-5 finish at the rain-delayed Dover race when they blew a right rear.  Grrr.  15th for us.  DCU tied the Galaxy in their Saturday night match-up but since it wasn’t televised on good ol’ basic cable, I don’t know if it was a ‘good’ draw or a boring one.

4 thoughts on “Good thing I’m not afraid of heights

  1. meg says:

    that yarn is fab. love it.
    new beds are the best. i do so love my new ikea bed but i have to admit i’m a sucker for the tall beds. they’ve always been my preference. you’ll get used to it and never want to go back.

  2. Stick says:

    I KNEW IT! I KNEW IT! I knew you were getting a bed!
    I was right!! Na na na na naa naa

  3. dani says:

    Yes you’re very smart. Shut up.

  4. LauraRN says:

    Happy Sleeping!!! I hope the new bed and your back get along!!

Leave a Reply

