Monkey See, Monkey Do!

2007_06120062_3 In honor of the next phase of Project Spectrum, I cast on a pair of Monkey socks using my Buckeye-colored Claudia’s Hand Painted.  The red, grey and black yarn perfectly fits the color scheme, but I’m still not totally sold on the yarn-pattern combo.  Too late now, since I just started working oh the heel flap.  [Yes, I know it’s never too late to frog; I’m just going to stick it out and see how I feel well into the foot.]

Of course, the only reason I can afford to cast on the Buckeye Monkeys (Bunkeys?  Monkeyes?), is because I finally finished my2007_06120004_2 Writhe socks!  W’hoo!  I still don’t like how they look just sitting around, but I like the way they look on.  Of course, start to finish, they took me about 7 weeks (because I am the slowest knitter evah!), but I also worked on my (neglected) Hourglass sweater during that time.  See my 2007 FO photo album for details.

Once again, I only have so much sporting karma to share between my  teams.  The Pocono race was scheduled to run at the same time as the United v. Jersey soccer game last Sunday.  The rain delayed the start of the race, but apparently I channeled all of my positive energy into helping DCU overcome Bobby’s red card and contribute to Benny’s hat trick.  The rain came back shortly after the halfway point, giving JG the win, but more troubling is the flat left-front tire that blew out on the 48, giving them a 42nd place finish.  The team dropped from 2nd to 4th in points with their third week in a row of bad luck.  Hopefully we’re getting it all out of the way before the Chase (and we actually MAKE the Chase).

Today’s big NASCAR news is that Junior is joining Hendrick, so he’ll be teammates with Jeff and Jimmie next year.  I have mixed feelings about this turn of events.  I don’t think it’s a bad business move for Junior, necessarily, but I wonder how well he’s going to fit in with all of his West Coast teammates.  I also wonder how his legion of fans is going to react: will they follow him? will they jump ship b/c he’s now teammates with Gordon?  Only time will tell.

And now, since I have nothing else constructive to say, PICTURES!

2007_06130095 2007_06120089_3 2007_06120074_3

2007_06130110_2 Knit_happens_2 2007_06130065_2

1. How do I know someone with a unicycle?  2. Griffin anxiously awaiting his treat 3. something yummy in the Bangkok Post that my mooched book was wrapped in 4. a tiny kitten that invaded (5.) late night at Knit Happens 6.  my lunchtime view through the trees in Dupont Circle.

3 thoughts on “Monkey See, Monkey Do!

  1. Andria says:

    As a Jeff Gordon fan, I’ve been hoping Jr. would come to our team just so all those Dale fans that have talked so much crap for so long would go crazy. But boy – there’s going to be A LOT of ego on that team now.

  2. Kim says:

    I’m wondering about the Junior “fit,” too. Next year will be very, very interesting.

  3. Stick says:

    Purdy Sockies!

Leave a Reply

