Chaos Supreme

2007_07010005 Last weekend was my whirwind trip to Cape Carteret, NC for E’s nephew’s birthday party.  I don’t know whether the 3:00 a.m. departure time had  be on probation with the Professional Navigators of America.  Wilson, NC was a black hole of time suckage, in both directions.  We did eventually manage to slingshot out of there, but only after a half hour delay (in each direction).  There were a couple of catnaps along the way (I got delirious around 5:15 a.m.) but we eventually arrived around Piernoonish.

The rest of the weekend was a whirlwind of urchin-inspired activity: a quick trip to the beach; a birthday party of insane proportions (featuring a bouncy room thingy, cowboy hats, sheriff stars, more presents than you can shake a stick at, at water pistols that the grown-ups enjoyed FAR more than the little ones); a cookout (they ran out of hotdogs…sigh);

With the amount of time I spent in the car, you’d think that I’d’ve gotten more knitting done, but no.  I did some swatching and got down to the toe of my 2nd Monkey sock but I didn’t have the first one to compare it to, so I wasn’t exactly sure where to start the toe decreases.  Hopefully I’ll be able to wrap it up on the Fourth.

3 thoughts on “Chaos Supreme

  1. Kim says:

    Yeah, but the view you had. . .!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Damn you Wilson, NC! Damn you!!!!

  3. Steph says:

    WOW – I was in EI too. That’s where my mom lives.
    PS – next time, I’ll give you the directions to skip Wilson altogether. Wilson is a disaster.

Leave a Reply

