Second Verse, Same as the First

There really is only one difference between this past weekend’s camping extravaganza and last year’s. This time Holly joined me on my annual venture to the great outdoors. She’ll be the first to admit she’s no nature girl and she’ll probably blog about her own experience, but hopefully she had a good time. Well, except when we tried to kill her by dragging her up a mini-mountain Saturday morning.  Sorry about that. 

Fortunately, the rains only fell on greater metropolitan Bentonville, VA on Friday, and they held off until after the tents were up and the gear stowed.  I can’t/won’t say much else about the trip other than to say it was drunken, silly, fun, hot, and all those things that this annual camping trip is known for, and I get to do it all over again this weekend in central PA. 

I came home to a disappointing Allstate 400.  I walked in the door and turned on the tv, just in time to see Jimmie smack the wall and burst into flame.  Indianapolis has not been good to my boy, last year notwithstanding.  Chad’s suspension this time around has really killed them.  The 48 team is down to 9th with six races until the Chase.  Hopefully they can turn things around, although Pocono ‘s up next – I’m not holding out a lot of hope.

United v. Club America wrapped up my vegetative Sunday.  I was too brain-dead to make the game at RFK so I watched them win on tv.  Bobby claims he has his swagger back but I’ll wait and see how they play tomorrow v. Houston.

Leave a Reply

