“It’s, like, the Jerry Maguire of classic movies!”*

Dscf3632
Last night was the last Screen on the Green of the 2007 season and I finally made it out.  I haven’t made it down to the Mall for the last 4-5 years, but my friend J was in town, the weather was perfect and the movie was "Casablanca" – that’s a lure too strong for me to resist.  Several hundred other Washingtonians clearly had the same idea so we squeezed onto a mini-plot of grass and watched what the AFI has currently dubbed the third greatest movie of all time.  Aside from a couple of minor irritations – the people near us who talked (in Russian) through the entire movie, the girl in our group who was so intent on sitting next to J that she scooted me out to the edge of the blanket – it was a good night.  Watching our friend Joe do the "HBO dance" alone was worth the price of admission.P8100282a_2

The rest of the weekend was chock full o’ "Yay, J’s in town!!!" festivities.  While the Beer Mile wasn’t
technically scheduled in his honor, it was the kickoff to this most recent round of debauchery.  If you  haven’t experienced a Beer Mile, consider yourself lucky.  Running a mile and consuming a six-pack of cerveza in the shortest time, while not quite suicide, is certainly not advisable (but it’s REALLY funny to watch).   The costumes help add a certain element of class-with-a-capital-K to the proceedings.

My friends aren’t quite right in the noggin; what can I say?

Dscf3649a
Once we recovered from Friday night’s horrors, Saturday night’s rooftop party and Sunday’s brunch were tame by comparison but no less fun.  He’s only in town for a few more days before he jets out again, which is a bit of a mixed blessing.  While I’ll miss J when he flies back West, it’ll be nice to actually sleep and do laundry and pay bills and all those things I’ve let slide this week.    Love you, J!

Last but not least, a gratuitous shot of the big dome, which lurked in the background of the movie last night.  I do forget from time to time how much I love this city.

Dscf3642_3
   Dscf3656_3

[L: I Kinneared the Capitol!  R: Fuzzy but still purty]

* Overheard from the wine-drunk girls behind us as they were packing up to leave.  I actually felt my heart shudder.

4 thoughts on ““It’s, like, the Jerry Maguire of classic movies!”*

  1. Elspeth says:

    Hey! I was there, too! I lurve that movie.

  2. Melyssa says:

    nice Kinneared capitol. (Austin’s is bigger, btw) 😉
    I don’t remember any costumes at the beer mile I witnessed… did Phil win again?

  3. Stick says:

    Whaddya mean we’re “not quite right in the noggin'” ?????

  4. LauraRN says:

    That comment truly was a bit of sacrilege. (but then, I saw Jerry Maguire after a surgical procedure, and I was pretty wiped out on percocet.)

Leave a Reply

