Just an old, sweet song

As I was walking home from happy hour tonight, I passed a house where a handful of people were sitting on their front porch were listening to Ray Charles, and I got to thinking.  (Nothing good ever comes of this…)  Is it so wrong to want to meet a guy who wants to sit on a front porch on a beautiful summer evening, listen to some mellow music and just talk?  Catch up on the week, figure out plans for the weekend?  [Or go to soccer games…or NASCAR races…or parties…or really kinda do anything at all]

I usually don’t get all maudlin about my terminally single status (at least not on this here blog) and this won’t become a habit, but I’ve been feeling the pangs of not having a summer fling lately.  Or even a summer crush.  As E says, why hasn’t he magically appeared in my living room?

7 thoughts on “Just an old, sweet song

  1. Barbara says:

    No, it’s not maudlin at all. I can understand how you feel but I think things always happen when you least expect them to! I’d go about life persuing your hobbies and taking time for you and before you know it, I be Prince Charming will enter the stage!

  2. Kim says:

    Lovely thoughts, not at all maudlin. A man to sit on the porch with you and listen to Ray. . . That’s ideal.

  3. mai says:

    i don’t know about you, but i find it hard to meet anybody once you’re out of school. i don’t want to meet some drunk guy at a bar! so for now, i’m trying to embrace my newly single status! i know that your special someone will walk into your life soon, and when you least expect it.

  4. Jeanne B. says:

    Not maudlin. I’m with you on it. Though I play guitar and not banjo (yet—have one, still working around to it), I have fantasies about sitting on the back porch of a little cozy cabin somewhere rural with my (someday, where are you?) beau and a few buddies, having a couple beers and having a bluegrass jam on a warm summer evening.
    Keep focusing on having it in your life, and it’ll appear. 🙂 Just be ready for it when it does!

  5. That’s the first time I’ve heard you describe such a perfect evening and a perfect guy. He’s out there, just be patient. 🙂

  6. Amy says:

    I am right there with you! Just keep being the awesome person you are, and you’ll find someone.

  7. Jess says:

    I don’t want to be repetitive…but I’m sure all these people commenting are right! 🙂

    …and you should see Aresenic and Old Lace, for sure!
    Jess

Leave a Reply

