Lazy days

Temporary Eastern Market

Last weekend, I decided to haul my cookies out of bed and head down to the recently re-opened Eastern Market.  Well, ‘re-opened’ is a bit of a misnomer; the temporary structure opened a couple of weeks ago, to the relief of the vendors whose livelihoods are provided by the daily market.  I’d like to say that if I lived closer, I’d do my daily food shopping at this great little farmers’ market, but I honestly doubt I would.  However, it’s definitely worth a field trip in the summer months, if for no other reason than to check out the great handcrafted jewelry, photographs, artwork, and great produce (my peach was DELISH!).

The rest of my time was spent divided amongst my sports teams du jour.  The Buckeyes defeated the Zips, United beat the Revs (oh happy day!  First place in the Eastern Conference!) and Jimmie won his second race in a row, sweeping Richmond, Saturday night.  Da Bears and the USMNT didn’t do so hot on Sunday, but that was to be expected.  I only have so much sports karma to dole out and I wasLey2_2 tapped after my trip to RFK.

Some non-thrilling but necessary knitting has taken place in the past week as well.  I’m a couple of
inches further into the leg of Leyburn #2, but it’s going slowly.   I’ve decided it’s my commuter knitting, while Cherry Pie is my at-home, sprawled-in-bed-watching-countless-hours-of -Tivo’d-nonsense knitting.  I’m approaching the half-way point (not including the border) and am at least trying to get through half a repeat a night.  I know, eight rows isn’t a ton to accomplish but making my goals manageable is what has gotten me this far.

My other favorite pictures from Eastern Market on Saturday:

Pepper Is he wearing eye shadow?

2 thoughts on “Lazy days

  1. Stick says:

    The peppers match the sock!

  2. Yvonne says:

    Yummy habanero peppers! Spicy like the sock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

