Heartbroken

I’d entered a contest with a local radio station for an all-expense paid trip to Iceland and this morning was the final drawing.  At 7:50ish, they read off the name, "Danielle (*gasp**tremble!!!*)…"  not me.  Looks like I’ll just have to add Reykjavik to the list of places to save up for.

P9190331_edited_2Wednesday night was the annual meet-the-team day for the DC United fan club that I’ve been a member of FOREVER.  It was way up yonder in Maryland (that great land beyond which I virtually never set foot in) and Unfortunately, I was a BAD, BAD blogger and didn’t take my camera out of my bag once!  While I could happily stand around with a beer, ogling my boys from afar, it just makes me feel awkward to walk up to a table full of the guys and go all Queen Dork and "Hey, I’m a big fan can I take a picture with you?"  *shudder*

Of course, I should’ve just had another Boddington’s and sucked it up, but I didn’t.  Troy and I talked Ohio (he grew up in Worthington, a suburb of lovely, scenic Columbus) and I – and others – regaled him with roadtrip horror stories, and Bobby and I…have a special secret.  One that earned me a hug, which I’ll take over a picture anyway.  He really is a fantastic guy; I feel for him being shuffled in and out of the starting lineup.  Of course, these are the same two guys that I stalked last year.  That isn’t to say that I don’t have much love for Nolly, Burchito, Mediate, Dyachenko, Benny, Josh,P9210340 and the rest, but if I HAD to pick favorites, those are my guys.

I started a TRULY heinous pair of slipper socks for mom (her birthday is right around the corner,  and she’s been hinting for years), so we’ll see what happens.  This was the yarn I had on hand, and I have an emergency ration of different yarn being delivered this evening, so we’ll see what happens.  Chocolate and "Brick Red" may not have been the best combo.  Maybe chocolate and country blue will be better.  It’s a two-strands-held-together deal so we’ll see what happens.  The good news is, it’s a super quick knit.  I started the first one yesterday and am closing off the heel gusset now.  Let’s hear it for double-stranded worsted weight and size 8 needles!!!

Oh!  Stick, Yvonne!  Someone wants to say hi!

P9200334_edited_4

Igor has absolute control; I am just a pawn is his game of room domination.   

3 thoughts on “Heartbroken

  1. Yvonne says:

    omg…is that Bubby!??? Can I expect him soon??

  2. Mia says:

    Maryland isn’t that bad. It is that DC line that can be scary!

  3. Stick says:

    BUUUUUUBBYYYYYYY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

