I Don’t Write

Not anymore.  Not the way I used to.  Applying pen to paper and emptying the nonsense rattling through my brain into notebooks is something I’ve done for years.  I started my first journal the summer I was twelve, shortly after reading The Diary of Anne Frank as I recall, and have written off and on over the years. 

The odd thing (to me) about blogging is that, when I was just writing for myself, I didn’t have to worry about my ‘voice’ or trying to be entertaining or amusing; I never had to worry about revealing too much or concern myself with not opening up enough.

Does anyone else wrestle with this?

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Write

  1. Jenn says:

    I’ve been blogging for almost three years and I still don’t worry about my voice. Is that bad?
    I’ve tried over the years to keep a journal, but blogging has gotten me to write on a regular basis.

  2. Yvonne says:

    I try to keep a journal, but blogging seems to work more. People bug me if I don’t blog. My journal just lies there.

  3. Amy says:

    I decided not to worry about my voice on my blog. Its really mostly for me, but if others find something amusing or interesting along the way, that’s cool too. I still keep a private journal, written by hand, for those things I just want to keep to myself. And, I really miss those fabric covered Anything books they used to have in the late 80s/early 90s – can’t find them anywhere…but I did find a DIY project to make my own, but just haven’t done that yet…

  4. meg says:

    pssst.
    that’s why i deleted my blog. sigh.

  5. Stick says:

    I was just thinking about this same thing yesterday and realized that I never ever journaled regularly, I’d put the notebook down and forget about it for weeks or months, but I never forget to blog. I don’t do it regularly, but I’ve been more consistent with that than I ever was with Journaling.
    I agree with Amy… I don’t really care about “my voice” my blog is me, I don’t filter too much – it’s my space – if people don’t like it they won’t read it.

  6. I don’t think you should worry about your voice – the majority of your readers know you well enough to know how you sound. And I think you’ve done a pretty good job of sounding like yourself. 😉
    But I still keep a notebook next to my bed and write in it when I can’t sleep, although usually it’s things that I can’t write on my blog (work-related) or don’t particularly want to tell everyone. I think having both is healthy.

  7. Jeanne B. says:

    When I started blogging, I worried about my “voice”, but it was too hard to write that way. So now I just let it all hang out. It’s interesting, though, when I meet people IRL that read my blog—such as my Tuesday InsanKnitty friends (the SnB) who also have blogs… I don’t think I’m nearly as well-spoken, funny, or enlightening in person as I am on the blog. IRL, I’m more shy than IBL (In Blog Life).
    As for journaling privately versus blogging, that’s why I moved some of my posts over to a private password-protected blog separate from my knitting blog. It’s more like my journal (because I type as fast as I think) where my uncensored thoughts and ramblings are revealed without restraint. But I let a few people in for a peek.
    Another oddity is that I don’t mind meeting blogreaders in person, but for some reason I balk at having my longterm IRL friends know that I have a blog, let alone actually read it. Why is that?

  8. Jenn says:

    Jeanne, YES, me too. Only 3 people in real life (who I didn’t meet through blogging) know that I have a blog. I’m afraid that if my family finds out, I’ll change how I’m writing and I don’t want that to happen.

Leave a Reply

