Finally Fall. Maybe.

2007_1011test0026_2After more record highs early this past week, it looks like fall may have finally arrived in the mid-Atlantic region.  Today is mostly cloudy and in the 60s, which is fabulous, but since I went on a cleaning purge and threw out all of my crappy closed-toe shoes, I’m stick with flip flops and my toesies are getting a little chilly.  Shoe shopping anyone?

In less than 24 hours, I’ll bet getting on the "big road" to head to Lowe’s Motor Speedway for the race Saturday night.  I’m SO EXCITED…and a little bummed.  I was originally supposed to head down with my "big sis", but she’s feeling under the weather and has a lot of stuff going on, so I’m flying solo (driving solo, to be more precise).  Fortunately, I do have friends in Charlotte so I don’t have to go to the race by myself, but I would’ve loved to have gone with Sis to her first event.  Meanwhile, a portion of the2007_1011test0003 Darlington crew will be reunited for the event.

The other bad news is that, since I’m driving down, there will be no 12 hours of knitting time on the
road.  I was semi-counting on that time on Sunday to work on my Sock Wars sock, but I guess it’s not meant to be.  With as slow as I knit, I’ll be dead by  Thursday anyway, but I’d like to have given it the old college try.  I’ve tried getting gauge with two yarns I have in stash and I’m getting nowhere fast.  I’m contemplating a fiber pit-stop on my way through Richmond tomorrow; maybe they 2007_1011test0013
will have something that will work.

In other sock news, I have been plugging away on my little Conwy sock.  I’m going to make it a little shorter than the pattern calls for (fun with leg shaping and chubby calves), but all in all it’s a quick knit.  I’m about to turn heel #1, which as we all know will take me approximately 3 weeks, but at least I’m still loving the yarn.

And, if you’re still reading, I’ll expose my most recent round of embarrassment.  I’m mentioned in here somewhere; I haven’t actually read it.  Please try to contain yourselves.  Never talk to the press while rockin’ a migraine.  That’s all I’m saying.

4 thoughts on “Finally Fall. Maybe.

  1. Anonymous says:

    2 paragraphs of quotes! Good for you!

  2. Yvonne says:

    I didn’t do sock wars this time around. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it!

  3. Holly says:

    Paragraph 12, if anyone wants to go right there… 😀 You’re all famous and stuff!
    Boo on the driving down… however, if you’re still in need of yarn, come dive in my stash for it!

  4. dani says:

    Hol, you’re not helping!

Leave a Reply

