“Into each life some rain must fall.”

But seriously, it can stop now.  I know we’re a foot low on the rainfall front, but I’m a little gun shy when it comes to water falling from the sky, lest there be a repeat of this debacle.  If I could just sit at  home, watching backlogged Tivo recordings and knitting, that would be one thing, but I have social engagements that I have to take care of before I can pull on the sweats and settle in for the next 60 hours.  Fortunately, the birthday happy hour won’t take much time and I’m just doing a fly-by of the annual Pumpkin Slaughter.

Wednesday night was the kickoff party for the Neighborhood Fiber Co‘sLedroit2 new partnership with the
Anacostia Watershed Society.  As the evening involved some of my favorite things (parties, yarn, spending money I don’t have), I swung by to show my support to Karida and Knit Happens and brought home this BEAUTIFUL yarn.  While Hol tried to convince me that I really needed to bring home more than one skein of the Watershed yarn, I stood firm and managed to escape with just this one lovely skein of LeDroit Park.  I’ve never worked with this Merino/SeaCell blend so I’m really looking forward to it, although I have no idea what I might make.  Suggestions?  I also exchanged my 4-ply  Cashsoft for the correctly-gauged DK weight, but the Sage colorway doesn’t photograph spectacularly, so I’ll wait until I start knitting it up to flash the stash.

I’m being a Hallo-weenie this year and not doing anything for the holiday.  I always end up feeling lame in my costume and envious of everyone else’s creativity, so I think I’m going to spend the party night hyperventilating in the generalConwy2 direction of the OSU-Penn State game and working on clearing
a path through my room so I can rearrange my furniture.  I have a TON of furniture in my rather large bedroom, but it has to get rearranged twice semi-annually to expose/cover my floorboard heater.  With forecast lows in the 40s next week, it’s about that time.   

I know this sounds like an extremely lame way to spend one’s Saturday night, but I’m really looking forward to it.  Besides, maybe I can finish my 2nd Conwy sock.  I’m getting awfully close to that heel turn.

4 thoughts on ““Into each life some rain must fall.”

  1. Heather says:

    Ooooh. Your new yarn addition is gorgeous! Glad I am not the only one who falls in love with a yarn, buys it, but has no idea what to knit it into 🙂

  2. Yvonne says:

    pretty yarn. Send Bubby!

  3. Anonymous says:

    New layout for the blog month…v. nice! /ehj

  4. Mia says:

    Lucky you to get to the shop. I am trying to be good and not call the shop and order some. And the rain has finally stopped for the moment. Up here in the rural wild north, I think we ended up with 3 to 4 inches total depending on the location.

Leave a Reply

