Halloween Hodgepodge

E and I celebrated Halloween Eve by going on the Ghost and Graveyard Tour in Old Town Alexandria
last night.  It was on her list of things she’d always meant to do, and as usual, I’m happy to tag along. Gates As usual, I neglected to get a picture of our tour guide in his colonial garb (despite much admiration
of his embroidered stockings), but he was a fantastic storyteller.  The college I attended was widely reputed for being haunted, so it seemed only fitting that I see what Alexandria had to offer.   Not too shabby, but I still have a special affinity for my Kenyon ghosts, probably because I know that I walked in their footsteps and lived in their space.  My senior year roommate and I are to this day convinced that we had a little poltergeist activity in our room in Hanna, but we were always more excited than scared.   I do recall naming him, but I have no idea what we came up with.  I wonder if he’s still there in that 2nd floor double…

2007_1030canon0051_3
Shockingly, not much to reveal on the knitting front.  I barely picked up the needles on Saturday, what with running around pattern shopping with E (and wallowing in sewing pattern envy) and falling into the well that is Target.  The ill-conceived Buckeye DNA scarf is still on the needles, but I’ve set it aside as the at-home project to work on closing up the heel on Conwy#2 (however, the progress shot of the scarf is slightly more compelling than the leg of C2.  I said slightly!)  There is absolutely no way this pair of socks is going to be done before the end of Socktober, but I’d like to finish them by the weekend so I can cast on mom’s (third) pair of Christmas socks.  For those of you new to my neuroses, I haven’t FINISHED three pairs of socks for my mum; I simply will have cast on three pair.

The room did not get rearranged yet but it WILL be done this weekend.  First I need to clear a path.  ENTER:  SELF’s 30 day makeover for organization!  I did this for three reasons:

  1. I’m a glutton for punishment
  2. Perhaps the daily emails will provide the much needed kick in the butt to motivate me
  3. It’ll give me something daily to post for NaBloPoMo

Now, which do you think is the most compelling?  #3?  Exactly!  I signed up a couple of days ago, but am dragging my heels on starting until tomorrow so everything lines up all nice and neat.  Never mind the fact that I haven’t cleared off my bed enough to even THINK about being able to make it in the morning; I sleep with too much junk in bed with me (and sadly, none of it human, male and virile).  If you clean it, they will come.

Last but not least, it seems Ravelry has brought two Ladies together.  I don’t know if you’re reading, but HI MELISSA!!!  Ooh, and did I tell you I won a blog contest?!?  I can’t wait to see what special treat I get from Sarah after she gets back from Cali.

Once again, a day late and a dollar short with the NASCAR results.  Sorry ’bout that.  By the way, perhaps you can guess who won in Atlanta last weekend?  Here’s a hint:

Keys_5

I never said I wasn’t a dork.  You know better than that.

p.s. – Hopefully blogging daily will put an end to these epic posts…

4 thoughts on “Halloween Hodgepodge

  1. Erin says:

    Look at Unclutterer in a few days … I wrote an upcoming post where I thank you for pointing me toward the Self Magazine 30 day project πŸ™‚ (I don’t link to your blog, just thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Mia says:

    Well the whole DC area is haunted. Come up my way and there are more hauntings to be seen. The Ghost Tour over in Harpers Ferry is worth the trip.

  3. mai says:

    i like your new layout and template! pretty!

  4. Melissa says:

    Hi Dani!
    You know I never had any Kenyon ghost experiences and I never went on the ghost tour…bad student!
    I really like the Buckeye DNA scarf, what pattern is that?

Leave a Reply

