No one to blame but myself

My lovely shingles have progressed through the first two stages of ick and are now just in the itchy, healing-over stage.  Still icky but no longer totally disgusting.  Of course, when I went to the doctor for a follow-up, I was diagnosed with acute bronchitis (must’ve been all those ice packs).  Bronchitis is finally on its way out, but I’m still having minor respiratory problems but that’s because I’m surrounded by this:

2008_0129canon0062
2008_0129canon0064_2

Don’t bother asking why Allergy Girl is dog sitting.  I have no good answer, unless "because they’re so damn cute" is suddenly acceptable and I’m fairly sure it isn’t.

2008_0129canon0067_2Watching these two is giving me a good excuse to be a homebody though, at least once I get them to the dog park to burn off some of their energy after being cooped up all day.  Last night we watched "The Italian Job" for the 499th time and worked on my new sock.  Mark Wahlberg, Jason Statham, Edward Norton and Seth Green all in one flick = happy girl.

Sorry for the crummy picture, but I lack the energy for proper staging.   I cast on Ann Budd’s Diagonal Cross-Rib sock on Saturday night, so I’d have something to work on while metroing to a Carnival party.  Of course, I accidentally left the pattern at home so I was stuck once I got past the 1" of ribbing.  It’s moving along slowly but surely; my temporarily revamped commute does give me additional time to work on it.

Just over two weeks until the 2008 NASCAR season kicks off in full force.  Jimmie drove in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona last weekend (I totally forgot it was on).  Despite my inattention, his team finished 2nd, even with a transmission change early Sunday morning.  The NASCAR board on Ravelry is doing a charity knitting/crocheting afghan project for the Victory Junction Gang Camp so I need to get my yarn and get ready to go.  I’ve decided to go with the Circle of Friends Garter-Stitch Blanket in bright happy colors.  I can’t cast on until the green flag on the 17th, so I have some time to at least finish one of the socks.

3 thoughts on “No one to blame but myself

  1. Yvonne says:

    I loooooooooooove The Italian Job! I’ve seen it a gazillion times, too!

  2. Stick says:

    Pretty socks!
    Cool blanket, me likey!
    Cute puppies!

  3. Anonymous says:

    oh i can watch italian job over and over too!
    i had forgotten about the rolex 24 hours race too. i caught part of the last hour but switched over to watch something else. i am so ready for racing to start up. good news is the tv that is in the breakroom near me won’t be quite as annoying during qualifying on fridays. and when the gatorade duels (or whatever they are called now) are on, i can at least listen.
    thanks for the heads-up about the nascar group on ravelry and the victory junction gang. i haven’t ventured into the groups section except for south carolina and a local group that one of my friends here set up.

Leave a Reply

