Bass Ackwards, as usual

Okay, now that we’ve wiped January off the books, let’s start anew, shall we?

I refrained from making any resolutions last month, but I’ve had some time to mull things over and have come up with a couple of ideas.

1) Health.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, the perennial resolution.  I finally got my test results from my physical back in November and, while I’m not in any danger zones for anything (in particular, cholesterol and blood sugar), I’m teetering on the brink.  So, it’s time to seriously do the eating better & increasing activity thing.  I had just started picking up the gym attendance thing again when death-by-shingles came along, so I have to get back on that horse.  I’ve had to get up an hour earlier than I’m used to in order to walk the pups this week, so I hope to just translate that into "an hour earlier to go to the gym" starting next week.

2) Purge.  I have too much crap.  I use a lot of it, but I can certainly get rid of probably 2/3 of it.  We’re not even talking yarn stash (well, not strictly).  Paper, books and clothes I haven’t worn in a decade can all go.  The stereo whose volume can only be controlled with the remote can really be replaced by something smaller and with an MP3 connection. 

3) Read.  I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t read a book that didn’t involve the words "trashy" and/or "romance" in years.  I do belong to a book club (the most recent book was What’s the Matter with Kansas?) but I never finished it.  I find that most of my downtime is spent knitting (believe it or not) and it’s much easier for me to watch tv while knitting than it is to read a book.

4) Knit.  Surprisingly, this isn’t entirely at odds with #3.  During this week of dog-sitting and not having internet access in the evenings, I’ve gotten a lot more knitting done.  The Blanket for Pinky is done, with the exception of weaving in the ends and de-germing it with a quick run through the washing machine.   I’ve blown through another skein of yarn on Wicked (which makes me think that Wicked may get frogged and become Rusted Root or something similar, as I only  have one skein of Cascade left).  I’ve been knitting for eleven years now and I think maybe it’s about time I learn how to knit something that…um…fits?  I’ll have to bribe someone to sit down with me someday and go through the whole measurement/gauge dance so I quit wasting time and yarn.

4.5) Maybe, just maybe, it’s time for me to get my own apartment.  I’ve been living in a group house for 10 years (the rent is incredible) but I’m reaching the point where living with people 14 years my junior is really starting to work my nerves.  There will definitely be some soul- and budget-searching on the horizon.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Bass Ackwards, as usual

  1. ann says:

    Good list – all very rational and reasonable. My guess is that if you push hard on #4.5, you will make great progress on #2.
    Have you kicked the shingles by now?

  2. Jenn says:

    I can see how a group house would be hard to deal with!
    I’ve done so much purging and have so much yet that I want to get to. It really is freeing to watch your stuff march out the door!

  3. Stick says:

    WOW!!!! I totally saw 1 thru 4 coming, but not 4.5! REALLY? WOW. That’s a biggie.
    I gotta purge some sh*t too. I’m just not interested in starting that work. It’s a battle of “what if I might possibly maybe need this in the future?” vs “I haven’t touched this thing in 9 years, why do I still own it?” and I lose the battle every time!!!

  4. Beverly A says:

    good luck with the gym thing. i can totally relate to how hard it is to get back in the swing of things. it sounds like you’re feeling better, too. i’m with you on the purging thing too. i’ve got a lot of things that i’ve been holding onto for some reason or another. and it’s funny, i don’t remember the reasons on some of the things, so it’s definitely time for them to move on to someone else. 🙂

  5. Go you! These are great “non-resolutions.” I am impressed with your goals, and will keep my fingers crossed for you — especially with #4.5. It’s about damn time! 😉

  6. Amy says:

    Good luck with everything! I have some of the same goals on my list. And, I’m sooo glad its February. I am hopeful that it will bring good fortune to all who have been kicked around by January. : )

Leave a Reply

