“Imagine the Life You Want To Live”

Too_much
After four months, I’ve finally taken the time to crack open Peter Walsh’s "It’s All Too Much".   This is far from the first book or magazine on de-cluttering and organization that I own, but so far it may be the best.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still terrified at the notion of him coming to Clean Sweep my house and make me throw away my 23-year-old stuffed polar bear because it’s not adding anything to my life, but it may  help me get through the first couple of layers of purging.

The gist of it is to imagine the life you want to live, then examine the things in your life and ask yourself if these possessions are helping you towards that imagined life or keeping you from it.  The big problem for me is that I don’t really have an idea of what I want my life to be.  Happy, healthy, overrun with friends?   Absolutely.  Beyond that, however, I just don’t know.  I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up and I’ve never been one of those "I want to have accomplished X by the time I’m 40" kinds of people, so I’m not sure how to structure my list in order to achieve it.

I’m struggling against the urge to start throwing things away right away, which is something he cautions against: 

"One of the most common errors people make when attempting to declutter and get organized is that they start with ‘the stuff.’  This is a huge mistake.  Just moving the stuff around, into different rooms and new plastic bins, doesn’t solve the problem."

It doesn’t?!  But new shiny bins from The Container Store make me happy!  Don’t think I haven’t considered getting a label maker because I have.

I started reading this last night as I lay in bed with not one, but both pups.  Seems he was just irate that big sis got to sleep in the bed while he was stuck in that smelly old crate.  Sorry fella (and sorry to his mom and dad who get to duke it out with him when they get 2008_0205canon0004_2back home).  Before y’all decry me
as the worst dog sitter ever, their mum did tell me to let him up if I thought it would shush him.  He was snoring within 10 minutes.

Still no pictures of Wicked, but my Diagonal Cross-Rib sock is moving right along.  I’m approaching the heel turn, but still no word on whether or not Steph cast hers on as well.  Steph?  [Ooh, and happy belated b-day to the Big Red Dog!!!]  I’m going to have to take care to carve out knitting time once I’m back home again.  I know I don’t actually have any FO’s to show for it, but I really have gotten a lot done while on Pup Patrol during our QT on the couch after we get home from the dog park.  It’s really quite amazing: I had no trouble changing clothes to leave the house to take them to go exercise, but I can’t manage to do the same for myself.  Hrm…

3 thoughts on ““Imagine the Life You Want To Live”

  1. Jenn says:

    I’ve been wanting to read that book! I’m not one of the “I’ll do X by 40” people, either. When it comes to life visions, I’m kind of a slacker.

  2. Yvonne says:

    Someone I know has a life plan — 2 kids, 1 boy and 1 girl, by the age of 30. House by the age of 25. This kind of car, that kind of car. Wife will not work outside of the home, yadda yadda. They are NOT the happiest family. And what he would have done if he would have had two girls or two boys instead of one of each, heaven knows.

  3. Stick says:

    if you’re not supposed to start by throwing stuff out… what ARE you supposed to start with? curious minds want to know!

Leave a Reply

