Civic duty? Check!

2008_0213canon0007
Neither rain nor snow, nor sleet nor dog sitting two Metro transfers away kept me from my appointed friendly neighborhood polling place yesterday morning.  They were kind enough to snake the line around indoors so we wouldn’t have to stand in line in the cold, but all told it took about 45 minutes.  Fortunately, I had my watered-down coffee and my 7-Eleven doughnuts to keep me fortified for the three seconds it took for me to go in to my no-longer-a-booth and press the button next to my candidate.  Is it bad that I was momentarily tempted to vote for Fred Thompson since I just watched "The Hunt for Red October" Monday night?  "Russians don’t take a dump, son, without a plan."  Sounds like solid foreign policy to me!

I am on a temporary 48 hour hiatus from my dog-watching duties this week.  Once again, Guinness and knitting did not mix.

Guinness2

Meet Guinness.

He does not enjoy having attention diverted from him.  At.  All.  I did manage to sneak in a few rows on my diagonal cross-rib sock but more importantly, I got the ends woven in for the baby blanket for our IT guy.  Good thing, too, because today was his last visit to our office before he’s out for a month of paternity leave.

2008_0213canon0017Pattern: Sweet Baby of Mine by Marsha Hinkson (from Donna Kooler’s Encyclopedia of Knitting)

Yarn: Lion Brand Microspun in Leaf colorway (5 skeins, maybe?)

Needles: Size 5 Addi Turbo 32" circular needle

Mods: Heh.  No, seriously.  Zilch.

Comments: Easy knit.  Pay no mind to the unwoven end in the picture; I took care of it before I gifted it this a.m.

2 thoughts on “Civic duty? Check!

  1. Amy says:

    That’s great that you were able to do your civic duty! I wasn’t able to…after I slipped and hit my head on the sidewalk (luckily, I seem to be fine), I decided not to go back outside for the evening like I had planned…

Leave a Reply

