Ooops!

I spent all of yesterday in Old Town Alexandria, first with the St. Patrick’s Day parade and then a couple of blocks further west to spend the afternoon at Knit Happens.

Pipes    Alexandria_6

Minute_2    Dancers_3

I don’t know why I get such a kick out of parades, but I do.  It probably has to do with my time in marching band.  Aah, the good ol’ days.Red

After the motorcycle cops wrapped up the end of the parade, I wandered over to Knit Happens.  I  should’ve stayed far away, given their incredible Leap Day sale and the fact that I gave up yarn for Lent.  I held out for as long as I could, but at the end of the day (literally, they were locking the doors) I caved into temptation and picked up a sweater’s worth of wool in my favorite shade of red.  As long as I was off the wagon, I should’ve snapped some up in pale grey, too, but I didn’t think of that until it was too late.  It’s probably for the best.  I feel a teensy weensy bit guilty for falling off the wagon, but would it really have been better to wait and spend $100 for the same yarn in a month that I could snap up for $25 now?

I spent the rest of the afternoon knitting in the front corner with Maeve, Nurse Laura, Elspeth & Ann.  A fair amount of progress was made on Diagonal Cross-Rib sock numero dos; I’m almost ready to turn the heel.  Photos of that and what little knitting I managed to get done during the race today will have to wait til tomorrow.  At least I managed to resist getting fries when we went to Hard Times for dinner after knitting.   Yes, E & M, I did get the Chilichanga, but everyone else got Frito Pie.

2 thoughts on “Ooops!

  1. Stick says:

    “would it really have been better to wait and spend $100 for the same yarn in a month that I could snap up for $25 now?”
    That is between you and your maker!! Heheheheheh
    and where’s a pic of funny dudes in silly hats driving little cars?!?!?!?!

  2. Mia says:

    You are allowed one fall off the wagon. And Alexandria must not have a calender sicne St. Patrick’s Day is still a week or so away.

Leave a Reply

