Sleight of Yarn

Jbm_toe_2

While I was so concerned about running short on yarn for my Clapotis, I neglected to worry about  whether I’d have enough yarn to finish the foot of my John B. Monkey.  Oh, the curse of big feet.  Since I’m not about to rip out the entire foot for a handful of inches of yarn, I think I’ll just have extremely squared-off toes on this pair of Monkeys, and I’m okay with that.

As for the Clapotis, I’m about halfway done (which is to say I just killed the first skein).  It’s relatively unheard of for me to be cruising through two projects this smoothly, but my Oval of Friends blanket has paid the price.  I’ve barely worked on it at all over the last couple of weeks, especially since I went on trail during the race last week and there wasn’t a race today since it’s Easter. 

CeilingThe rest of the week of dogsitting Guinness went fairly well.  Unfortunately, I came home to a ceiling that looked like this.  Generally, this is not how I like my ceilings to look.  Apparently, our landlord finally got someone out to look at our leaky second floor shower and the plumbers had to go through the kitchen ceiling to get to some of the pipes.  I haven’t been around so I’m not entirely sure what the master plan is for ceiling replacement but hopefully we won’t have to live with this look for long.  It’s giving me nightmares of having the shower plummet through to the first floor.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to watch The Sound of Music for the second night in a row.  Love that Christopher Plummer.

2 thoughts on “Sleight of Yarn

  1. Mia says:

    Well, the bottom of the floor looks like it is in good shape. And the beams look solid so I wouldn’t worry about the shower falling into the kitchen. But that isn’t a pretty site.
    And your foot size is becoming the norm. I wonder how long it will take for yarn companies to include more yarn?

  2. mai says:

    god i love the sound of music. it is one of my favorite movies of all time. and yes, i have watched it two nights in a row, and yes, i have watched two times in a row in one night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

