Trying something new

It’s a well-known fact that I absolutely despise having my picture taken.  There’s virtually nothing of my physical appearance that I like, much less like having captured on film/magical digital bits for all time.  The  problem this creates is that there are very few pictures of me at parties, on vacation, social gatherings, what have you (at least, not ones without my patented eyes-crossed, tongue-out pose).   

While not vowing to do a Photo-a-Day, this month, I think I’m going to try to take pictures of myself that don’t make me throw up a little. 

Disembodied

My hands aren’t totally offensive.  I could certainly stand to get a manicure, and I’m not sure exactly what part of a stitch I’m in the middle of doing there, but there you have it.  The cord of my Addi Turbo is obscuring the silver ring that I bought in NYC when I went to see Jimmie in November and the rest of my John B. Monkey is tucked behind my fingers.  I’m in the middle of the third of seven cuff repeats.   I really only work on it during my commute (or in the case of today, while waiting at the dentist’s office), so it’s terribly slow going.

Most of my knitting time has been spent on Tomato.  I’d have photos of it for you, but I used the ‘good’ camera yesterday and I don’t have the cable at work.  I’m more or less done with the upper body; I just need to put the sleeve stitches on waste yarn and join in the round.  I’ll do a proper "Hey, I started this new project" post tomorrow when I have pictures.

NASCAR Update

Getting there.  Jimmie and the 48 team pulled together a fourth-place finish Sunday in Martinsville.  It’s one of their better tracks, so a top-five shouldn’t be a surprise, but after the season they’ve had so far, I’m thrilled to have a good finish.  That finish also vaulted him to 10th place in the overall standings, which makes me a happy girl.  My number two guy, Jeff B., is in first.  W’HOO!

2 thoughts on “Trying something new

  1. Mia says:

    I think the one I took of you that day at Knit Happens was nice. You were off in the background and the light in that shot was really nice.

  2. Erin says:

    What is interesting, is that I won’t let my hands be photographed. The picture you have posted I could never have the nerve to put up on the internet (well, unless for some medical journal talking about my skin disorder). It’s so interesting what makes people uncomfortable in photographs.

Leave a Reply

