Eight

That’s the number of consecutive hours I actually got to sleep last night.  It was a banner evening.  An unheard of phenomenon for me in the last several weeks.  I could get used to that.  The handoff of the pups went off without a hitch; the only concern was discovering that the hide-a-key for the new guy wasn’t where it was supposed to be.  Glad I discovered it on my last day rather than my first; I wouldn’t have been able to sleep at night.

Boys   Blossom_3

I didn’t go on a full on cherry blossom field trip this year, but I did manage to spot a couple in bloom outside the library this weekend.  I had to stock up on more books on Australia and grab our new book club book.

Last night was DC United‘s home opener.  My NASCAR partner in crime Rebecca was in town for work and went to the game with me.  The tailgate was absolute chaos but the weather held and the game was fun.  The first games back are always like the first day of school; I end up running around trying to catch up with people and remember people’s names.  Rebecca – whom I met at a DC United game a million years ago – and I can’t believe how much everything has changed since the beginning, back in 1996.  At least their 4-1 win last night helped make last week’s 3-0 loss a little easier to take, but not by much.  The next game is Wednesday night, so sadly no late night for me.

Tailgate_2  Drummers  Crowd_2

I promise to actually discuss knitting tomorrow.  I managed to crank out a few rows of my Oval of Friends blanket during the race, finishing the 5th of 7 columns, I think. 

Sat_sky

Saturday’s sky.  Someday there will leaves on trees again.

Leave a Reply

