When Bad Things Happen to Good Fruit

So, last week I was reading Smitten Kitchen and immediately wanted to try this recipe.  I knew I had frozen blueberries tucked away, and it shouldn’t be too difficult, right?  Famous last words.

What went wrong:Dscf5641

  • Didn’t grease/flour the loaf pan enough
  • Probably would’ve been better off using fresh berries.  I think the frozen ones were a little too soggy, didn’t take the flour, and then did the weird separating thing that berries can do
  • Didn’t use longer skewer to check center of cake for doneness

Just so you don’t think it’s all negative, the flavor is fantastic.  The yogurt keeps it super moist and the lemon and the blueberries are yummy.  I would just do that couple of things differently.  I would also consider the muffin option.

Fettuccine I have had cooking successes this week though.  The Fettuccine with Bacon, Peas and Parmesan was tasty (I also added a little roasted chicken) and tonight’s Tortellini Primavera was chock full of vegetables.  I’m trying REALLY hard to cook more, both to get more veggies in and to save money.  With summer knocking on the door, my social calendar is starting to fill in a little bit and those plans cost money.  Of course, if I had filed my taxes three months ago, this wouldn’t be a problem.

Uh, I still haven’t filed them.

2 thoughts on “When Bad Things Happen to Good Fruit

  1. Yvonne says:

    You didn’t thaw the blueberries, did you? Next time just chuck ’em in still frozen, if you did. I highly recommend the Blueberry Crumb Cake from Ina Garten next time you’re in a blueberry baking mood. đŸ™‚

  2. Amy says:

    Oh no! I’m so glad it still tastes good – who cares about the presentation! Thanks for sharing the links to the recipes – I’m always looking to try something new. Take care. : )

Leave a Reply

