April Showers

Dscf5674

Even though this was the glum sight that I faced most of the day (and I can still hear it coming down tonight), I can hardly complain after the beautiful weather we had in the D.C. area this week.  Besides, the gloomy skies were a blessing in disguise since I over-indulged a smidge last night in celebrating both a friend’s return from the sandbox and another’s bachelorette night on the town.  Although I seriously considered staying in last night, I’m glad I went out and caught up with friends.

Dscf5663 Told ya I finally had two toes done!  These are my monkeys from days gone by.  I finished them last weekend and never got around to taking pictures.  Still not a superb photo shoot by any stretch of the imagination; I’ll work on those someday. 

Cast on: 3/12/08
Cast off: 4/13/08
Pattern: Cookie’s Monkeys
Yarn: Claudia’s Handpainted; colorway – John B.
Needles: Trusty size 0 32" Addi Turbos
Modifications: Added a picot cuff, my first ever.  Fuuuuuuuuusssssssssssssssy!  But now I knowDscf5667_2 how to do it.  I did a sl1, k1 heel flap instead of the sl1, k across called for in the pattern.  I also fudged the toes on both socks b/c I was starting to run short on yarn (damn you, size 10 feet!!!). 

This was my second pair of Monkeys and I doubt it’ll be my last.  The pattern is varied enough to keep my interest but simple enough to memorize.  Of course, that isn’t to say that I don’t forget the pattern periodically, but I wouldn’t be me if I were perfect.

3 thoughts on “April Showers

  1. ann says:

    so pretty! I love that colorway… and a nice antidote to the gloomy rain… come back sun!

  2. Yay finished monkeys! Boo rain. But rain washes away the allergy demons, so sometimes it’s necessary. 😉

  3. mai says:

    pretty socks! i was in richmond this weekend and had to drive home in that rain 😦

Leave a Reply

