Summer Songs

i wish I were here
I wish I were here

Like virtually everyone else, I have a handful of songs that always remind me of summer.  School letting out & eight-hour days spent at the neighborhood pool.  That sensation of tilting your head back and letting the sun warm your face and the smile that breaks over it when your favorite song du jour comes on the radio.  For reasons I can’t explain, Joe Walsh’s "Life’s Been Good" and "Baker Street" by Gerry Rafferty always remind me of sitting with my legs hooked over the deck of the pool, floating on my back in the water with my eyes closed as the music filters in through my water-logged ears. 

There was the Beach Boys’ phase I went through early in high school (I even saw them perform at a Columbus Clippers’ minor-league baseball game during the "Kokomo" era).  More recently it was the ubiquitous "Summertime" by DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince – I grew up in a neighborhood nothing like that one, but there are still years I don’t feel my summer has officially kicked off until I’ve sung about "the barbecue that’s startin’ at 4".  I could go on, and on, and on, but I figure I’ll just introduce you to the song that’s bound to be my 2008 summer song.

One thought on “Summer Songs

  1. mai says:

    great songs. another great song by gerry rafferty is right down the line.

Leave a Reply

