My triumphant return!

Well, not really, but it's been a while, no?

After rising early-ish Sunday morning, the pups and I went on a field trip to the local dog park.  It was all part of my master plan to wear them out so I could watch the race in relative peace.  Unfortunately, the race was so peaceful that I nearly drifted off to sleep with them on a couple of occasions.  Ugh.  Bub
Unfortunately, since I wasn't home last weekend, I wasn't able to kick off "Finish a #*!@# Project" Month quite
the way I'd planned.  My greatest of intentions was to go through and photograph the works in progress that were candidates to be finished this month, get people's input, have a little fanfare…but we all know how that goes.  Instead, I just took a swing at the first thing that came to mind (or at the very least, to Stick's mind) – Bubby.  I only had a very small part to do on this project and I let it linger FOREVER, but it's out of my hands now.  I figured it was a good way to start off the month.

Thinking back through other projects that need to be taken on this month, I've come up with the following short list:

  • The ubiquitous Central Park Hoodie.  Belvedere and I had a parting of ways in early February last year, and I just haven't taken the time to address that particular level of incompetence.  My choices are to fudge where I attach the sleeve and have a horrific pucker or rip out all of the button band/hood knitting, unseam the shoulder and figure out what went horribly wrong.  I'm so crippled by indecision on how to proceed that I've left it in the corner for over a year. 
  • Clapotis.  Seriously, there are all of 7 stitches left before binding this sucker off.  My stitch count was off as I got toward the end and rather than figure out where I'd miffed the pattern, it went into a different corner than Belvedere, but has been in timeout nonetheless.
  • Pick a short-sleeved sweater, any short-sleeved sweater.  Wicked, Somewhat Cowl and Tomato.  Why did I cast all of these on?  It's essentially the same top-down sweater knit in the round, is it not?  Tomato is the most likely of the three to get worked on this month, as it's the only one not being knit with wool.  The forecast calls for temps in the 90s this week.  Oh joy.

Anya_desk
I have less than a repeat to go on my 2nd Anya sock, so those will be done soon (I hope).  Dog sitting last weekend gave me plenty of time to work on Mimi.  The back and right front are done and I'm about halfway to the armhole on the left front.  It's excellent brainless knitting, as long as I can remember where I am in the never-ending moss stitch.  It makes for excellent NASCAR knitting, but maybe in the spirit of the month, I should get back to my Oval of Friends blanket, that has been languishing in purgatory since I noticed a mistake 50 rows back (anyone noticing a theme?).

NASCAR Update

Another race, another Shrub win. Getting kind of fed up with it, but whatever.  I wouldn't mind it so much if the racing were good, but it's just putting me to sleep.  Car in front checks out, other cars can't pass, everything comes down to tire or fuel strategy, it's just boring.  I miss the old downforce cars!  Chimmie had an okay day.  Was disappointed that they finished a lap down until I realized, wait, they're 7th.  It was THAT kind of race.  Next up: Pocono.  At least Rebecca will be here to watch the race with me.

2 thoughts on “My triumphant return!

  1. Yvonne says:

    OMG!!! BUBBY IS ON HIS WAY TO STICK? Or to me, so I can finish him for Stick?! I’m SO impressed!! WAY TO GO, D!! 🙂

  2. Stick says:

    BUBBYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Leave a Reply

