QUACK!

2008_0607canon0012
Despite the fact that DC was transported to the surface of the sun this weekend, a friend of mine had free tickets for the DC Ducks tour so off we went to play tourist.  I whooped loudly when they asked if anyone was from Ohio, but I think it was fairly obvious we were jaded natives rather than slightly-befuddled tourists.  Of course, it's possible we looked like slightly-befuddled natives.

The high points of the tour were, of course, the duck quackers (pictured left) and the sensation of driving into the Potomac and feeling the awesome power of the 91 horsepower engine.  The three knots we were turning were awe inspiring. 

In all honesty, I love playing tourist, even in my own backyard.  You do occasionally pick up on new tidbits of information.  For example, did you know that the first president to be inaugurated on the western side of the Capitol was Ronald Reagan?  [Yes, Melyssa, I'm sure you knew.  Nerd.]  He wanted to face his home state of California.  Despite living in DC for the last 15 years, I've only been to one presidential innuguration (and it was cooooooooooooooooold!).  Perhaps I'll try moseying downtown again next January.

Duck  
2008_0607canon0021
3 thoughts on “QUACK!

  1. mai says:

    cool! i’ve never done that, but i love playing tourist as well. there’s so much i haven’t seen, and i’ve lived here my whole life!

  2. Kim says:

    I love DC. Rather envious of you just now. . .

  3. Mia says:

    I love the new look. That duck bill is so you!!!
    And it looks like it is going to storm up here right now. I was the crazy one who went to the nursery to buy plants Sunday morning in the hear.

Leave a Reply

