Clearly I didn't express myself clearly.  What I should have said was "virtually all of my photos from my time at the beach sucked and aren't worth posting," but I was trying to pussy-foot my way around having to come right out and make that particular confession.

I flew to the lovely, scenic, one-gate Jacksonville airport on
Wednesday evening (after a delay in Atlanta that ultimately involved changing planes), where E picked up myself and another family friend and whisked us off to Emerald Isle.  First up was dinner with the gang at the Real World house, where I got to catch up with the bride- and groom-to-be and the rest of the family and friends running around. 

Deck_view  
DSC_0056

To the left we have the power-line interrupted view from the beach house I stayed out last week.  There are three rows of houses on Emerald Isle and we were in the middle, but we only had a short walk to the boardwalk that took us to the ocean side.  The photo on the right is the view from the patio of the "Real World: Emerald Isle" house and the waters of Bogue Sound (I think).

Beach
Thursday was the only day we really made it to the beach, and it was a beautiful day.  Sunny, blue skies and a nice breeze to keep the temperature from being completely unbearable.  We buried a 4-year-old in the sand, dodged sand crabs and jellyfish (as one does in the Atlantic), and generally lazed the day away before heading back to the house and lazing some more.  More friends and family started arriving as the evening went on, culminating with the California/Boston contingent who nearly ran us over getting to the TV in time for the start of Game 4 of the NBA Finals.  As one who didn't have a dog in that particular fight, it was highly entertaining to watch the drama that unfolded in front of the TV (although in all honesty, I avoided them until maybe the last three minutes of the game).

By Friday night, I was afraid I'd never remember anyone's name ever again.  Where in the world did all of these cousins come from?  E thought I was kidding when I said I wanted color-coded name tags to identify everyone.  Truth be told, so did I – until they descended en masse.  Fortunately there was no test at the end of the weekend.

Photos_over

Saturday was the wedding day and the weather couldn't have been better.  The day was absolutely beautiful, a little warm for the poor Marines in their dress blue-white uniforms (but we were OH so glad they were wearing them.  Mmmmm!).  The ceremony was lovely, the food at the reception delish and the bars a little too accessible.  The only downside of the evening is that a cranky neighbor called in to complain about the noise so the dancing ended early.  Way early.  Like, "right when people had enough to eat and drink and were getting ready to descend on the dance floor" early.  Alas, the boogie-ing was not meant to be.

Piers   IMG_1441a

Reception 
IMG_1430
3 thoughts on “

  1. here’s to exchanging comments, yes? 🙂 Lovely photos, so far as I could see. There is no more lovely-to-look-at military uniform than Marine dress blues. My fave is the beach pic with only two people on it.

  2. mai says:

    what a beautiful bride! it looks like it was a beautiful setting for a wedding.

  3. Kim says:

    Lovely pictures, and an “Amen” to the Marines in uniform!

Leave a Reply

