Knit One, Tink Two

Despite having five days of doing virtually nothing, there was no increase in the amount of knitting output.  I think I only toted the sock up to the big house with me once the entire time.  Mimi's left front went on the trip with me, but despite the fact that I took four extra balls of yarn, I forgot one teensy weensy thing – my handy bumblebee measuring tape.  Without it, I didn't know when it was time to start the armhole shaping.  Oh, I tried to guestimate, but I was wrong.  So very wrong.

DSC_0171
  Sock

I'm still not in love with the sock, but I'm plugging away, somewhat unenthusiastically.  I don't know if it's the pattern or the combination of the yarn and pattern, but I just can't get into it.  Maybe I'll shelve it until I finish Anya.  [I'm not doing so hot on this whole project finishing month dealio].

I've also been slacking a smidge in the Secret Pal department.  Time to play a little catch up.

Question of the Week #1: What is your favorite summertime drink?Costa_maya
My answer to this is two-fold, as most have seemed to be.  In the non-alcoholic camp, we have Arnold Palmers, aka half-and-halfs.  Love these poured over a tall glass of ice while sitting outside, having lunch in the sun.  Actually, as for the alcoholic answer to the question, it's pretty much "a tall, cold one" where "one" could be just about anything but a gin and tonic (gin and I had a falling out in 1990.  It wasn't pretty,
although my 'gin face' was obviously a turn-on for E's cousin last weekend).  By and large, though, I'm a beer girl, so it's hard to go wrong with an ice cold Sam Adams' Summer Ale when the mercury is on the rise.

Question of the week #2: As a kid, what did you look forward to most about summer vacation/break/holiday?
I grew up in a townhouse complex that had a swimming pool in the middle.  I remember that I wasn't allowed to go swimming until it was 80 degrees outside so I would stand in the kitchen by our long, olive-green, corded telephone and dial Time and Temperature over and over and over again waiting for it to be warm enough to go to the pool (note: this was in the days before the Weather Channel, cordless telephones and redial).  Of course, I was already in my swimsuit and my lunch was already packed and as soon as it was warm enough, I'd jump on my bike – complete with yellow banana seat, naturally – and pedal my heart out to go meet my friends at the pool.  We'd stay there all day long, until Snoopy's big arm was on the 12 and the little arm was on the 6, then I knew it was time to pedal home to check in with my parents when they got home from work.

2 thoughts on “Knit One, Tink Two

  1. mai says:

    mmm, dos equis…..

  2. Stephenie Liu says:

    Awwww, cute latchkey swimming poolness!
    Mojitos…claro que si.

Leave a Reply

