Busy bee, bzzz bzzz bzzz

Monday morning coffee clearly hasn’t kicked in yet, eh?

This was quite the busy weekend in the Knascar garage.  No race this weekend, but there was pre-camping instruction in my backyard, tour-guiding, soccer-gameage, and brunch with friends I haven’t seen in a while.

Friday night after work, virtually-blogless Knitgirl came over to practice putting her tent up before this weekend’s camping trip near Skyline Drive.  Oh, that I had been able to sit and videotape this entire adventure!  After briefly channeling my father and insisting that she read the directions herself, she got down to setting her home-away-from-home up in my side yard.  After a couple of slip-ups and and brief moments of confusion, she managed to get it set up with very little help from yours truly.

Equipment  DSC_0006

DSC_0009 
DSC_0012

I have total faith that she’ll be able to pull this off again this Friday under real-life conditions. 

Saturday, I got to play tour guide to the visiting Yvonne and her family.  She has the only photographic evidence that we were indeed together this weekend; I only managed to snap pictures of the scenery.  I blame the blurriness on the fact that it was a million-point-two degrees outside and that made everything a little hazy, including my photography.

DSC_0043  Masks

DSC_0083a 
DSC_0075a

After we finished roasting to death on the Mall, we headed off to Five Guys for an early dinner and then they went back to their hotel to recuperate and I headed off to RFK to watch a meaningless Superliga match.  For our “off month” I certainly feel like I’m at a DC United game every other day.

That’s my weekend in a nutshell.  Unfortunately it ended on a bit of a sad note, as I got word from Stick that she lost her dear friend and queen kitty Hogan last night.  I’m sure she’s ruling a roost somewhere on high, camped in a new favorite chair and yelling kitty swear words at those who don’t respect her authority.

5 thoughts on “Busy bee, bzzz bzzz bzzz

  1. Stick says:

    *sniff* Thanks

  2. ann says:

    those tent pics are super-cute. hope it’s as easy come weekend!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I’m glad you gave Knitgirl some beer to further simulate real-life conditions…
    So sorry to hear about Stick’s cat. 😦

  4. Amy says:

    Hey, I went to Five Guys on Saturday too! Yum!! : )

  5. Mia says:

    Hey the haze made photography hard to do this past weekend. And check out the Idiot’s Guide to the Nikon D40/40x from the library. I have it and it is worth the money. If you can’t get it, let me know and I will make sure that you can borrow my copy.

Leave a Reply

